Lazy saturday = minimal cooking

Preparing your own food is the most convenient way to stay paleo. That way you know exactly what you are putting into your body. This basically means you have to cook a lot, especially if you like having a lot of variety. But it doesn’t have to be complicated or time consuming! While I enjoy cooking with a lot of ingredients using multiple pans in multiple steps over multiple hours, sometimes I like being lazy and making something in 10 minutes.

Breakfast
I heat the sausage and fry the eggs in one pan. Yummy 5min breakfast.
– Blueberries
– 1 Tomato
– 2 Eggs – I like mine over medium with a runny yolk.
Aidells Chicken & Apple Sausage – I just found out that Aidells makes organic versions of their sausages, I will definitely be looking for those next time. I usually get handmade sausage from the butcher, but precooked, packaged sausage is so convenient! Aidells is awesome because they are all natural and free of nitrates. Always read the label on prepackaged food!
So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk – You definitely want to get the unsweetened kind. Though this does have additives, the ingredients looked ok enough to me. Except the carrageenan, a thickener, which has been linked to cancer. It’s bland at first, but it definitely grows on you! I would like to find some all natural coconut milk.

20110611-073352.jpg

MMMM blueberries!!! We have a blueberry plant. I can’t wait to gather my own blueberries!
20110611-073405.jpg

Lunch/Dinner
1.2lb T-bone steak with veggies (red bell pepper, onion, mushrooms, zucchini, and garlic)
I like my steaks medium rare, so it only takes 5 minutes to first pan sear and pop in the oven for a perfectly cooked steak. Cooking the veggies takes a little longer, but I start those while my cast iron skillet is heating up in the oven.

20110611-073440.jpg

I was super full after eating all of this in the mid-afternoon. Eating paleo is not about eating X number of meals a day every X number of hours. Eat when you’re hungry, stop when you’re full. I did snack on a couple of oranges and had a little kimchi stew in the evening, but I was completely satiated for the day.

Leave a comment