Chops and Stone Fruits

I’m going to jump right back into blogging like I haven’t been away for 3 months. Life got in the way! I even stopped being paleo for the month of May with some pretty disastrous results. It was my 25th birthmonth so I wanted to indulge in everything. I did however have plenty of adventures! Including two trips to Twin Falls, ID for BASE jumping off the Perrine Bridge! My mom and I also opened a Korean restaurant, but after 10 days of being open we had an unfortunate car accident involving sudden unintended acceleration. Now we will not be reopening for at least another month. Let me just say that being in an out of control car speeding into the building is a lot scarier than jumping off or out of anything. I will get into all of that as I get back to blogging. I have lots of pictures and videos to share, but today I want to focus on the food!

I love shopping for food in the summer! I love going to farmer’s markets and picking up my weekly Tiny’s Organic fruit bag. Since this year I signed up for the all fruit bag, it means twice as much fruit to try and consume in one week. Lots of sharing is involved. Right now the bags are filled with stone fruits – apricots, apriums, plums, peaches, nectarines, and cherries!

I’ve been trying to incorporate some of the fruit into my meals rather than just snacking on them. I end up eating less fruit that way! Otherwise I will just eat pounds and pounds of fruit because I looove the sugar.

I also found this super tasty and definitely paleo Date and Cherry Balsamic Spread from Edible Gardens at Whole Foods. The only ingredients are dates, cherries, and balsamic vinegar. I’ve been putting it on pork chops and lamb chops!

Date and Cherry Balsamic Lamb Loin Chops

Ingredients:
– 2 Lamb loin chops
– 1+ Tbsp Date and Cherry Balsamic Spread
– 1 tsp minced garlic
– Dried thyme, salt, and pepper to taste

This was soooo good! Especially with the little salad I made – arugula, spinach, rainier cherries, and walnuts. No dressing, just the way I like it!

Date and Cherry Balsamic Pork Chops

The date and cherry balsamic spread is also super good on pork chops!! I pan cooked these pork chops (lightly seasoned in salt and pepper) and sautéed the onions with a little garlic in the pork fat. I spread the spread on the meat after everything was cooked.

I had a lot of apriums to use up from my CSA bag. I didn’t like the texture or the flavor of them while eating them fresh. Not quite apricot, not quite plum, but a weird texture in between. Ironically, I absolutely love pluots, which are more plum than apricot. Since one of my favorite pork dishes involves peaches, I decided to make another pork dish with these apriums instead of letting them go to waste. They were amazing cooked! I don’t eat pork chops very often, but there’s just something about stone fruits that pairs perfectly with pork chops!

Aprium Pork Chops
You could just use apricots. This was very simple. Caramelize onions in pork fat then add the fruit and a little garlic. I sprinkled it with some Italian seasoning at the end and ate it with a side of roasted brussels sprouts. I could eat this every day! I’ll probably make a more summery side next time though.

Thanks to all my readers for continuing to read my blog and sending me messages asking about my wellbeing! I’m pretty excited to be blogging again. It definitely helps me eat better and cook more!

One Comment to “Chops and Stone Fruits”

  1. Woho, loving that my favourite blogger is back!

Leave a Reply

