Paleo Meatloaf

I’m way behind on blogging… I have lots of pictures and no posts to show for it! Hopefully I can catch up this week!

This was my first time making meatloaf and it was pretty good! I loved the sauce more than anything else. I’ve never been a fan of meatloaf and haven’t eaten it in years, so I don’t even know what meatloaf is really supposed to taste like. This one is meaty and not at all dry or bready.

I followed Alton Brown’s meatloaf recipe pretty closely, just making a few paleo substitutions and omissions. I also only had 18oz of ground beef so I halved the recipe and ended up making two half mini-loaves. Instead of garlic flavored croutons, I used the same amount of almond flour. For the glaze, I used Organicsville ketchup, which is the most paleo-friendly ketchup I’ve managed to find so far. I skipped the honey since the ketchup is plenty sweet, but the lack of extra sugar probably kept my glaze from really glazing up. I also skipped the Worcestershire sauce and used a dash of tabasco as my hot sauce.

Just a quick post today, I have a pretty busy day ahead of me. I basically lost an entire day yesterday due to a single Zyrtec pill. When I switched to paleo, I stopped getting sick or having migraines, so I was able to cut out pretty much all pharmaceuticals… except for allergy meds for my seasonal allergies that started a year or two ago. I wonder if I’ve become extra sensitive to medications because this supposedly non-drowsy allergy pill totally knocked me out for about 24 hours. I slept 80% of the time. When I was awake, I was super out of it and my friend thought I was high on something after a phone conversation. Feeling much better today! No more allergy meds for me! Know of any natural remedies?

8 Comments to “Paleo Meatloaf”

  1. I only make turkey meatloaf. For the glaze, I like to use a small can of tomato paste, a couple tablespoons of apple cider vinegar, a clove of garlic, some Italian seasoning and a little honey if needed. In the meatloaf, I throw in all kinds of very finely chopped veggies to keep it moist (I especially like to use onion, zucchini and carrots), and an egg or two to help hold it together. That was pre-almond flour days for me, so I’ll have to try that!

  2. Just stumbled upon your blog…really cool! I’m looking forward to trying out some of your recipes. Keep the adventures up!

    • Liz / Made this for my 2 1/2 year old and he actually ate it I ended up hanvilg the recipe, using dark turkey meat and topping it with black forest bacon. I did use one of those meatloaf pans that drain the fat away so I cooked it for 1 hour at 350 and it came out perfect. So excited to have another food to add to our dinners. Thank you!

    • In Response to Hedgehogman’s reply, Travel Agencies would respond to alerting Clients about ” DANGER SPOTS” and certainly the advise to inform people about the disaster in Indonesaia, is correct. But I would also argue that a certain amount of care and attention, when suggesting certain” Danger spots” shouldn’t necessarily stop people from travelling to Certain Countries. Indeed places such as Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Maldives etc survive on tourism and it would be even more detrimental to the People of those Countries, if people stopped travelling because of reports of Violence, Kidknapping etc.The UK Press thrives on such stories to the effect of harming the Travel Industry with some of it’s reports and sometimes the FCO advice goes to far ( although it generally is a good source of information) in it’s advice about wether to travel or not.Take the UK at present, should all foreigners stop travelling to the UK because of our Crazy Knife Culture and stabbings at present, I Think not.

      free auto insurance quotes NJ

    • In Response to Hedgehogman’s reply, Travel Agencies would respond to alerting Clients about ” DANGER SPOTS” and certainly the advise to inform people about the disaster in Indonesaia, is correct. But I would also argue that a certain amount of care and attention, when suggesting certain” Danger spots” shouldn’t necessarily stop people from travelling to Certain Countries. Indeed places such as Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Maldives etc survive on tourism and it would be even more detrimental to the People of those Countries, if people stopped travelling because of reports of Violence, Kidknapping etc.The UK Press thrives on such stories to the effect of harming the Travel Industry with some of it’s reports and sometimes the FCO advice goes to far ( although it generally is a good source of information) in it’s advice about wether to travel or not.Take the UK at present, should all foreigners stop travelling to the UK because of our Crazy Knife Culture and stabbings at present, I Think not.

      get cheap car insurance for new drivers

    • In Response to Hedgehogman’s reply, Travel Agencies would respond to alerting Clients about ” DANGER SPOTS” and certainly the advise to inform people about the disaster in Indonesaia, is correct. But I would also argue that a certain amount of care and attention, when suggesting certain” Danger spots” shouldn’t necessarily stop people from travelling to Certain Countries. Indeed places such as Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Maldives etc survive on tourism and it would be even more detrimental to the People of those Countries, if people stopped travelling because of reports of Violence, Kidknapping etc.The UK Press thrives on such stories to the effect of harming the Travel Industry with some of it’s reports and sometimes the FCO advice goes to far ( although it generally is a good source of information) in it’s advice about wether to travel or not.Take the UK at present, should all foreigners stop travelling to the UK because of our Crazy Knife Culture and stabbings at present, I Think not.

      cheap auto insurance

Leave a Reply

