Coconut encrusted shrimp and crab cakes!

I can’t believe it has taken me over a month to get back to blogging! I have some new delicious paleo recipes to share. I’ll start with these coconut encrusted shrimp and crab cakes, i.e. possibly the best thing I’ve ever made! I decided to add a couple ingredients to my original paleo crab cakes. The shrimp really adds a meatier texture while the coconut gives it this delicious crispy crust. It’s like crab cake and coconut shrimp’s love child!

 

I didn’t measure out anything, but I’ll try to write down the recipe as closely as possible. The ingredient amounts are approximate, adjust them according to your taste. I was out of celery, but it would have been a nice addition.

Ingredients:
– 1 Tbsp olive oil
– 1 medium carrot, peeled and chopped
– 1/4 onion, chopped
– 1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
– 1/4 cup chopped green onion
– 1 heaping tsp minced garlic
– 1/2+ cup shrimp, chopped
– 1 cup lump dungeness crab meat (precooked)
– cayenne pepper to taste
– black pepper to taste
– 1 egg
– 1 Tbsp dijon mustard (check ingredients, I use Annie’s)
– 1/2 cup almond flour
– 1/2 cup shredded coconut
– 1 Tbsp coconut oil

Directions:
1. Sauté the first three ingredients in olive oil until the onions are transparent. Add the garlic, green onion, and shrimp. Continue to cook until the shrimp starts to turn pink/orange. Remove from heat and transfer to a large bowl.
2. Mix in the crab meat, cayenne and black peppers, egg, dijon mustard, and 1/4 cup of the almond flour.
3. In a shallow bowl or a plate, mix together the rest of the almond flour with the shredded coconut. (I first ground the shredded coconut in a food processor for a finer texture.)
4. Form the crab cake mixture into patties and coat in the coconut-almond flour.
5. Cook the shrimp and crab cakes in coconut oil (extra virgin for more coconut flavor) until golden brown on both sides.

Enjoy!!

I have a lot of catching up to do on my blog. Hopefully I can complete at least one more post before my weekend skydiving trip to SoCal!

8 Comments to “Coconut encrusted shrimp and crab cakes!”

  1. Making this TONIGHT! Just wondering how much this makes? I usually need to triple everything for my family of 6.

  2. I’m going to make these this weekend!
    Also wanted to say I absolutely LOVE your blog. You have a similar approach to eating as me (mostly ~90%) paleo and we’re both at similar ages and life stages so I totally identify (I’m also in Vancouver – so pretty similar climate!). I have never commented before but just wanted to say keep it up, your blog, recipes and writing are awesome!

  3. these look amazing, I’m definitely making them this week! thank you!!

  4. These might be the best thing I have ever tasted! I followed exactly and tripled as usual and had plenty of mix left over to enjoy all over again another time. Found you on Pinterest btw, nice blog!

  5. This looks amazing!!!

    BTW, just finished a month paleo challenge at my gym and I lost 12lbs, 3 inches off waist and 3 inches off my thighs. CRAZZZZYYYY!!!

Leave a Reply

