Roasted Rack of Lamb with Dijon Mustard

I think eating meat off the bone tastes the best, so of course I loooove lamb rib chops! So tender and flavorful. I don’t like to buy a whole rack of lamb very often, because you can literally see how small the lamb must have been when all the ribs are together like that. I get a split personality when it comes to eating it – vegan and carnivore. Vegan me: “Poor baby animal! So sad!” Carnivore me: “MEAT LOLLIPOP!!! NOMS!” Guess which side wins?? 😀

I like lamb from Australia, New Zealand, or Iceland where the sheep are pretty much exclusively grass-fed. I’ve never seen domestic grass-fed lamb. See there I go feeling bad about eating lamb again, it’s so not local!

Anyway, I’m always looking for new ways to make lamb chops. I usually prefer lamb with a balsamic reduction, but I found a recipe using dijon mustard and decided to try it out, minus the bread crumbs. I personally did not care for the mustard with my lamb. It overpowers the natural flavor of lamb rather than complementing it.

I was also super impatient and pulled the meat from the oven earlier than I should have so I ended up with rare rather than medium-rare. I generally like my red meats on the rare side of medium-rare so it wasn’t that big of a deal.

I only eat brussels sprouts if roasted with a bit of olive oil, sea salt, and black pepper. It is delicious with a soft slightly nutty taste when cooked this way. Not to mention seriously addicting! I can eat a huge bag of brussels sprouts in one sitting.

Ingredients:
1 Frenched rack of lamb
Sea salt and pepper
Olive oil
1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
3 sprigs of fresh thyme
1 sprig of fresh rosemary
2 tsp minced garlic

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Salt and pepper the rack of lamb.
2. Heat olive oil in a stainless steel frying pan then sear the rack on both sides until brown. Remove from pan. (I use a stainless steel pan so that I don’t need to use a frying pan plus a separate roasting pan.)
3. Remove the leaves from the sprigs and crush. In a small bowl, mix mustard, herbs, and garlic. Spread mixture evenly all over the meat.
4. Put the meat back in the pan and pop it in the oven for 12+ minutes until it cooks to your preference.

I love rosemary, thyme, and garlic with lamb. I think I’ll remake this without the mustard next time, going back to the balsamic reduction!

Tags: , ,

One Comment to “Roasted Rack of Lamb with Dijon Mustard”

  1. Just saw this post, it looks delicious. I wanted to let you know that we have 100% Grass-fed Lamb at Lava Lake Lamb, raised int the mountains of Idaho! One less thing to feel guilty about.

Leave a Reply

