Paleo Banana Bread Experiment #1

I used to bake a lot of bread. Banana bread, date nut bread, apple bread… Bread baking stopped when I started eating paleo, because I didn’t think paleo bread would be nearly as good! Well after making some great banana berry muffins, I was inspired to make banana bread! I’m having a lot of fun with paleo baking.

I didn’t use a recipe, I made my own based on what I remember about making banana bread. My first attempt was a huge success! The taste and texture are EXACTLY the same as regular banana bread made with wheat flour. It was even better the next day! Dense and not too sweet, just the way I like it!

The dough needs to be packed down into the pan because it’s really dense unlike regular banana bread batter. I think I’ll add an extra banana and cut out the coconut palm sugar for my next experiment. My mom thought it was perfect as is! She’s not paleo, but she has finally jumped on the gluten-free bandwagon.

I only made enough for one mini-loaf! It’s dangerous for me to make a regular sized loaf since I’m prone to eating the whole thing in one sitting.

Ingredients:
1 Mashed overripe banana
1 Tbsp walnut oil (plus a little extra to grease the pan)
1 egg
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1 Tbsp coconut palm sugar
1/4 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup almond flour
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup walnuts, chopped

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Combine wet ingredients, then add dry ingredients, then fold in the nuts last.
3. Pack into a greased bread pan and bake for ~30 minutes or until it’s golden brown and cracked at the top.

2 Responses to “Paleo Banana Bread Experiment #1”

  1. I tried making a batch. Very yummy. Looking forward to trying out some of the muffin recipes!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

