Cioppino

I’m out of food again, which means I rely on the massive stockpile of seafood in the three freezers at my house. I did a quick ingredients search on allrecipes.com and decided to make cioppino!

Cioppino is one of those classic seafood dishes that I never wanted to try because of all the clams and mussels. Even just the smell of classic cioppino is nauseating to me. I pretty much hate all bivalve mollusks! Clams, mussels, oysters… I’ll eat them, but I’ve never like them. The smell, taste, texture, look, and everything about them isn’t appetizing to me. Except I do love scallops, especially big diver’s scallops.

So my cioppino doesn’t really look like cioppino without all the clam and mussel shells sticking out. I personally think it looks, smells, and tastes a hundred times better without them. I used cod, shrimp, squid, and crabmeat. I would have loved to add scallops, but didn’t have any on hand. Super good! I loved it and had two bowls. I usually don’t like seafood stews!

I used this recipe, reducing the amount and using a few different ingredients. It was otherwise the same so I’ll just list the ingredients I used instead of the whole recipe. I don’t think the water was necessary.

– 1/4 cup clarified butter
– 1/2 onion, chopped
– 1 heaping tsp minced garlic
– 1/2 cup fresh parsley, chopped
– 1 14.5oz can stewed tomatoes (don’t forget to check ingredients)
– 1 cup chicken broth
– 1 bay leaf
– 1 tsp dried basil
– 1/4 tsp dried thyme
– 1/4 tsp oregano
– 1/4 cup water
– 1/3 cup white wine (dry, not sweet)
– 1 cod fillet (I think mine was like 8oz?)
– 12oz large shrimp, peeled and deveined
– 1/3 cup chopped squid/calamari
– 1/2 cup crabmeat (might have been more)

Leave a Reply

