Dungeness crab scramble

One of my favorite places to go for breakfast in Seattle makes a Dungeness crab and Asparagus scramble with gruyere, chervil, chives, and mornay sauce. I’ve wanted to recreate it for a while, but I never seem to have asparagus and crab at the same time! I didn’t have asparagus, chervil, or chives, so I used other green stuff that I thought would go well with the crab. I’m happy to report that my crab scramble was delicious! Maybe even better than the original source of my inspiration! I especially enjoyed the crunch of the lightly cooked broccoli and the softness of everything else. It has a mild flavor that doesn’t overpower the crab and manages to taste light/fluffy and rich/filling at the same time. I think breakfast is the most boring meal of the day, but that means it has the most room for creativity!

 

 

Dungeness Crab, Broccoli, and Spinach Scramble

Ingredients:
– 1 Tbsp olive oil
– 1/4 cup broccoli, chopped
– 1 Tbsp (1 sprig?) green onion, chopped
– 1 tsp minced garlic
– 1/2 cup Dungeness crabmeat (I found a great 16oz container of it at Costco)
– 2 eggs, beaten
– 1/2 cup spinach, chopped
– 1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
– sea salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

Directions:
1. In a medium pan over medium high heat, lightly sauté broccoli, green onion, and garlic until the broccoli is slightly tender as if it was flash steamed. Then add the crab and briefly sauté until heated through (crabmeat is already cooked).
2. Stir in the eggs and continue to stir until fluffy and cooked.
3. Stir in the spinach and parsley until just wilted. Serve with salt and pepper to taste. (I didn’t add extra salt since the crabmeat was already salty.)

Yum. Hope this recipe is helpful, I have no idea what I’m doing when it comes to writing recipes from scratch! The ingredient amounts are approximate since I didn’t actually measure out everything.

Improvements to my blog are underway! I have to admit, my food undeniably looks 1000x better photographed with a DSLR than an iPhone 4. It takes a little longer to blog now, but the prettier pictures are worth it! I’m excited to study up on food photography so I can fill my blog with beautiful pictures! What’s the best lens for food? What about for companion parrot portraits?  Why do lenses cost so much?!?? Looks like I just found yet another expensive new hobby…oops.

3 Responses to “Dungeness crab scramble”

  1. Hey there

    What place in Seattle serves this dish? I found your site by googling Crab scramble as I plan on making one tommorow

    Your version looks great!

    I already have the ingredients for mine..so I am throwing some avocado ,chives, and Old Bay spice in mine to go with the crab but will try this for sure

    Thanks for the share

    -Mark

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

