I really need to go grocery shopping…

It’s really hard to stay paleo when you haven’t gone grocery shopping in several weeks… That should also explain the lack of posts. I know I could just make a trip to the QFC near my house, but conventional grocery stores usually don’t carry a lot of my favorite foods. It’s amazing how limited my menu becomes without my beloved pasture raised proteins! Luckily, we always have eggs, onions, carrots, peppers, and bacon on hand along with plenty of frozen seafood. So that’s what I’ve been eating while I haven’t had a convenient time to make a trip to the butcher or natural food store.

Omelette with onions, carrots, red pepper

20111229-213954.jpg

 

Bacon wrapped shrimp with jalapeño

Three ingredients – 6 shrimp, 2 strips of bacon cut into thirds, and half a jalapeño. It might have been better to use half strips of bacon because some didn’t wrap all the way. I pre-cooked the bacon a little bit and wrapped around raw shrimp and jalapeño, then baked them in the oven at 375 degrees for about 15min? I generally don’t like bacon wrapped seafood. I don’t think bacon makes everything better. But I had very limited ingredients to work with so I gave this a try! You’ll love it if you love bacon.

20111229-214000.jpg

 

Cod covered in eggs, green onions, and cerrano peppers

This is actually a paleo version of a Korean dish my mom makes where fish and veggies like zucchini are dipped in a batter of flour, eggs, green onions, and serrano peppers and fried. No flour in this version and really it tasted the same to me. The difference was more in the texture since there was no fluffy soft bready-ness.

20111229-214009.jpg

 

I’m really looking forward to the new year! Tomorrow I’m finally going snowboarding!! Hope it snows tonight!

Leave a Reply

