Paleo chocolate cookies, Rattlesnake Ledge

 

 

Continuing on with my paleo baking experiments, I made some chocolate cookies! I think I found the recipe on a random website and now I don’t know where it is. I did cut the amount of sugar and change a few things though.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder (unsweetened, of course)
  • 1/4 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
Preheat oven to 350. First mix cocoa powder into warm, melted coconut oil. Then add the rest of the ingredients. Form into balls and press down on them on a cookie sheet. Bake for 14 minutes.
These were just ok. Definitely satisfies your chocolate cravings, but texture wise they’re awful and not very cookie-like. They’re too fluffy due to all the eggs. I definitely prefer cookies that have a mixture of coconut and almond flours. I also should’ve added chopped walnuts to these for additional texture.

20111102-075307.jpg

 

I had an awful weekend of being super hungover for like 3 days after drinking way too much for Halloween on Saturday night. I can’t even look at liquor without wanting to throw up right now… Ironically, the lecture on Monday was all about alcohol metabolism. Moderate consumption (1-2 drinks a day) apparently lowers your risk of cardiovascular disease. I’m just going to stick to wine pairings when I eat amazing multi-course dinners, like the Celebrity Chef Tour dinner coming up!

Yesterday I had a very healthy day after finally feeling better. I went hiking with a friend after class to Rattlesnake Ledge. Only 4 miles round trip and 1160ft elevation gain, this is a super easy hike. I will probably come back here to trail run by myself. The views are breathtakingly gorgeous at the ledge!!

 

20111102-075318.jpg

20111102-075325.jpg

 

 

After hiking, we went out to dinner still in our hiking clothes. It was a 3-course meal, a part of the Dine Around Seattle 3 courses for $30 promotion this month. I’ll post about the food in an upcoming post. We also went climbing at Seattle Bouldering Project after dinner. Note to self: climb BEFORE a big meal!

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Paleo chocolate cookies, Rattlesnake Ledge”

  1. I’ve been using this recipe to help with my chocolate cravings. It’s soooo rich and yummy!

    http://greenteagrl.com/2011/05/recipe-chocolate-avocado-pudding/

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

