Paleo chewy coconut cookies!

I absolutely love baking cookies. I make awesome cookies, if I do say so myself. I used to have cookie baking marathons in my pre-paleo days:

cookies

That’s a lot of cookies! Does it make me a hypocrite that I’ve continued to bake standard cookies full of white flour and sugar for my friends? Probably. But cookies make people happy and I like happy people!

Well I finally dabbled in baking paleo cookies today! HUGE SUCCESS!!!

I made paleo versions of these chewy coconut cookies, which I used to make frequently back in the day. I think I actually like these BETTER than the originals! Imagine that! Similar in taste to the coconut macaroons I made, but with much better texture and more depth of flavor. Soft, chewy, not too sweet, coconut-y, and super delicious!!! I think I outdid myself with this one! I think I might use coconut butter instead of oil next time for extra coconut flavor!

Paleo Coconut Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Combine wet ingredients, add dry ingredients, mix into dough. Roll dough into smaller than walnut sized balls, press down half way.  Makes about 12 cookies. I always line my cookie sheets with foil or parchment paper for easy clean up. Bake for ~10 minutes! Make sure they cool before you attempt to remove them from the pan because they fall apart when warm.

20111027-192855.jpg

20111027-192905.jpg

20111027-192900.jpg

3 Responses to “Paleo chewy coconut cookies!”

  1. I have to try those coconut cookies! I’m checking out the macaroons too. There is gal here in Utah who is all about raw foods and she makes a killer macaroon that everyone raves about.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

