Paleo blueberry banana pancakes, attempt #1

I’ve never been a fan of pancakes, even in my pre-paleo days. I never liked the mushy/fluffy/soft texture. But constantly eating some combination of eggs, meat, and veggies for breakfast does get boring after a while. So I decided to make paleo pancakes the other day! As usual, I didn’t bother using a recipe and just threw some ingredients together: coconut flour, coconut milk, egg, mashed banana, cinnamon, blueberries, walnut oil, baking powder, and cooked with coconut oil. It was tasty but SUPER mushy. It can’t qualify as a cake of any sort. Panmush! I think I put too much coconut milk and coconut flour. Coconut flour absorbs liquids sooo well that I kept pouring coconut milk to get something resembling a batter more than dough. I think next time I’ll use a mix of coconut flour and almond flour and use much less liquid. And make waffles. Waffles are way better than pancakes!

20111026-154955.jpg

Now for a breakfast success! I made my shrimp and chives omelette in scramble form. 2 eggs, 4 shrimp, zucchini, mushroom, and chives. I was out of both shallots and onions.
20111026-155000.jpg

Leave a Reply

