Post-“Filthy Fifty” Shrimp and Chives Omelette

I’m still here! I haven’t posted this last week because I’ve been both really busy and really lazy. I was pretty much eating the same thing every day and then I had a major addiction to Lindt Lindor Truffles (I mean it was disgusting how fast I went through the Costco sized bag). Yum. I’ve loved them my entire life. I remember breaking a tooth on frozen Lindt truffles when I was 3. Paid absolutely no attention to my nutrition or eating for the week, I just ate whatever was convenient and available. I’d say i was maybe 60% paleo the whole week?

I went to Crossfit last Monday and I remember feeling good. That was before my eating went down hill. Jumped out of planes on Tuesday and Sunday. On Wednesday I went climbing and flew in the tunnel for a bit. That was the extent of my activities for the week because I had a lot going on with school and life. Saturday was Barbells for Boobs: Amazing Grace at my Crossfit box. I did “Grace” (30 clean and jerks for time) in 1:57. I was super tired and had a sore shoulder so I only did the bar (45#), which was obviously too easy for me. I felt increasingly fatigued as the week went on.

Today I feel like I’m back on track and am motivated to eat good food again. I made it to Crossfit for the worst workout ever!

“Filthy Fifty”

  • 50 box jumps 20″
  • 50 jumping pull ups
  • 50 kettlebell swings, 1 pood (I used the 26lb)
  • 50 walking lunges
  • 50 knees to elbows (scaled down to the ones on the ground)
  • 50 push presses (I did 25lbs instead of 35lbs)
  • 50 back extensions (did supermans instead)
  • 50 wall balls (14lbs)
  • 50 burpees (kill me now, worst part of the workout by far)
  • 50 double-unders
Even with several exercises scaled down, it kicked my ass! I can’t believe I even finished the workout (and in 28:29!) because I felt awful by the 10th box jump and continued to feel worse and worse. I just had so little energy! I felt weak, tired, and had no endurance. Food is most definitely fuel for the body. I didn’t eat the best and my performance suffered. Definitely motivated me to eat well again!
Off to a great start today!
A post-WOD fresh coconut is seriously the most amazing thing.

20111024-112604.jpg

 

Shrimp and Chives Omelette
I love when my food experiments turn out really, really good. I just threw this together for breakfast.

Ingredients:
1 Tbsp coconut oil
1 mushroom (I used baby portabella), chopped
~2 Tbsp chopped shallots
4 shrimp, chopped
2 eggs, beaten
~1/2 cup chives

In a small pan, melt oil and cook mushroom and shallots. Add shrimp. When shrimp is half cooked, add eggs. Add chives in the last moment so that it just wilts as you fold the omelette.

I didn’t season it at all, it honestly didn’t need anything else. I absolutely loved the flavor and aroma of the fresh chives (from the garden!). SOOOO GOOOOOD. Side of uncured, sugarless bacon.

20111024-112613.jpg

I also ate some almonds and mango as a snack after breakfast.

I’m determined to get back to normal habits this week and blog more! Except it’s Seattle Restaurant Week and now that I have time for dinner again, I have dinner plans M-Th. Since they’re prix-fixe 3 course meals, I’m pretty sure I’ll definitely be eating some non-paleo food. Lots of restaurant week related posts to come!

2 Trackbacks to “Post-“Filthy Fifty” Shrimp and Chives Omelette”

Leave a Reply

