Super crabby crab cakes!

Greetings from Seatac Airport! I am blogging from my phone while waiting for my plane to SLC. I’m visiting one of my skating friends (we’ve known each other since we were 10!) and getting lots of tunnel time at iFly Utah! I definitely need this vacation.

I skipped Crossfit yesterday and today so that I wouldn’t be sore for the tunnel. It was a struggle to NOT go. Apparently I’ve developed this sick need to be in constant pain? Feels kinda weird not being sore anywhere! Of course that will change in the next few days. Flying is definitely a workout!

I made myself this huge snack plate the other day. It was really more of a lunch. Prosciutto, smoked salmon, kale chips (which I made and did not care for), almonds, apples, carrots, and celery! I’ve never liked chips of any sort, so I’m not sure why I thought I’d like kale chips! I had to use the bunch of kale from last week’s CSA box. It was kale pieces shaken in a ziploc bag of with a tablespoon of olive oil and sea salt, then baked in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes.
20111012-182347.jpg

My very crabby crab cakes!
I did not use a recipe and just threw this together with awesome results! Sooo good! As good if not better than crab cakes I’ve had at restaurants! And these are paleo! I bought crab meat from Costco, it came in a 16oz container packed in salt, not frozen. Very high quality crab meat in large chunks.

I’ve attempted to provide a recipe:
– 8oz crab meat
– 1/2 cup total: sautéed diced mix of onion, celery, carrot, green onion
– 1tsp minced garlic
– 3 little squirts of Annie’s organic Dijon mustard, maybe like 1.5 tsp?
– cayenne pepper and black pepper
– 1 large egg yolk
– 1/4cup almond meal (half in the mix, the other half saved to coat the formed crab cakes)

Makes 3 big crab cakes. Cooked in olive oil. Served with roasted butternut squash.

Soooo goooood!!!

20111012-182354.jpg

Airport eats! Anthony’s at Seatac is such a paleo friendly restaurant. Last time I had the rockfish. Today I tried the mango shrimp cobb salad! I asked for no bleu cheese (they made a mistake and gave me cheese) and no wontons with dressing on the side (not eaten, just tasted). It was filling and I enjoyed it! Amazing airport food!!
20111012-182402.jpg

Time to board! Hope to stay paleo at SLC and Ogden!

3 Responses to “Super crabby crab cakes!”

  1. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my site so i came to “return the favor”.

    I am attempting to find things to improve my web site!
    I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!
    !

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

