I’m a student again!

I am still trying to catch up on posting, I have about 4 different drafts right now! I’ve been super busy this week and haven’t had time to blog. It’s also hard to get back to making it a habit after a week off!

I started class yesterday! It felt great to be back on campus because this time, I have a purpose! Since having my epiphany on what I want to do with my life, my goals have become even more focused. I’ve been preparing to apply to several grad schools so that I can get my MPH, focusing on public health nutrition. As a part of my preparation, I am taking two courses as a non-matriculated student at UW! They’re both a part of the program I hope to be in by this time next year. After going around the class introducing ourselves yesterday, I am absolutely positive that I belong there.

NUTR 520 Nutrition and Metabolism I 
Metabolic/physiologic concepts related to energy balance, carbohydrate, and protein nutrition. Addresses energy producing pathways, as well as food sources, digestion, absorption, and utilization of carbohydrates, protein, and various micronutrients. Additional topics include low carbohydrate diets, vegetarianism, protein deficiency, and inborn errors in carbohydrate, and protein metabolism.

NUTR 538 Nutritional Epidemiology 
Application of epidemiological methods to current studies of diet, nutrition, and chronic disease. A discussion of current issues and controversies enable students to plan studies in nutritional epidemiology and disease prevention.

I’m super excited about taking these classes! I’ve never felt so motivated about school before and I’m not even an official student! But I feel like I’ve started my journey along this life/career path that has become so clear to me in recent months. I will definitely be posting about anything interesting that I learn along the way!

One Trackback to “I’m a student again!”

Leave a Reply

