Horse races at Emerald Downs

I managed to use my Groupon for the horse races at Emerald Downs last Friday, just as the season was coming to a close that weekend. It was a beautiful, clear evening! I had never been to the races before and my only knowledge of it was what I saw on Animal Planet’s “Jockeys.”  I tried my best at betting despite having no idea what I was doing, just $1-2 for horses to win, place, or show. I was only down by $4 at one point, but ended the night being down about $12. It would probably be really boring to watch race after race if you weren’t betting and didn’t have horses to cheer on.

See how pretty Mt. Rainier looks in the sunset! I love where I live.

20110927-072059.jpg

 

It was pretty much impossible to take good pictures with an iPhone, which has been serving me well as my only camera for this blog.
20110927-072111.jpg

20110927-072138.jpg

 

The horses were so beautiful! You could see that they were nothing but raw power. Both the horses and jockeys are athletes! I think I’ve heard that jockeys are the strongest athletes in the world when you look at strength vs. weight or something like that? I imagine it’s not easy to stay on the fastest horses in the world!

20110927-072213.jpg

20110927-072204.jpg

 

 

Now for the food options at Emerald Downs were awful. AWFUL. There were limited concessions available, I believe there’s a restaurant in there, but I didn’t check it out. Look at this menu. People were lining up for this “food” and seemed to be enjoying it. The Groupon included $10 on food and non-alcoholic drinks plus I was hungry so I decided to take on the challenge of staying paleo here. The other menu board next to this had hotdogs and pretzels with nacho cheese.

20110927-072121.jpg

 

The girl who took my order and made the food looked at me like crazy when I said no buns, no cheese, no fries, add bacon on my burger. Everything was pre-made, the burgers were floating in some sort of liquid, the bacon formed in a weird circle, then both were heated up on the grill. So much for the grille in “Paddock Grille”! There was absolutely nothing super perishable on the menu – no veggies! Everything came frozen and fully cooked. Look at it. It looks disgusting. I took a bite because I didn’t want to waste food, but I could not eat this. I’d say eat before or after getting here, unless your local track has much better options.

20110927-072129.jpg

 

 

I always talk about how eating paleo in the modern world isn’t that difficult. I can even find things to eat at stadiums during baseball/football/soccer games! But I have finally been beaten by Emerald Downs, it was impossible. I will probably be back next year as a once a year type of outing, it’s not like I’m going there for the food.

 

 

Leave a Reply

