Adding starches to my diet

I did 2 more wingsuit jumps yesterday!!! I got 105 seconds of flight time on one of them. It’s funny because I have an internal clock for break off time, right around 40 seconds. So I’m flying and right around when my internal skydiving clock tells me it’s time to go, I look at my altimeter and I’m still at like 9k… Then I look again as my internal clock starts panicking and it’s just 7k! My audible altimeter FINALLY goes off when it’s time to pull at 5k, which was lower than the first day, but still high since I tend to pull around 3-3.5k on non-wingsuit jumps. That means a longer canopy ride as well. Kinda tiring, actually, but I absolutely love this whole flying thing.

Rough day yesterday in terms of food – definitely not 95% paleo! But before I get into that, I’d like to present another eggs benedict that I made for breakfast yesterday. Eggs benedict is my absolute favorite breakfast ever and I discovered I could make it without an english muffin. Prior eggs benny experiments:butternut squash and canadian bacon (description of how to make sauce is there) and smoked salmon and cucumber.

Chicken apple sausage and squash eggs benedict
Yellow squash that looks like a UFO, Aidells chicken apple sausage, avocado, heirloom tomato, poached egg, and my hollandaise sauce. The sauce was a little thin because I didn’t have the patience to let it thicken yesterday. I don’t know what it is about the squash and chicken apple sausage combo, but it’s fantastic. This was absolutely delicious! I can’t even rank which of the benedicts I’ve made have been my favorite because they all taste different, despite having the same sauce.
20110912-091703.jpg

Started off with a little butter, which isn’t that bad. Always choose full fat dairy if you’re going to have dairy in your own paleo diet. I really should pick up some pastured butter. Then came all the carbs.

I had a VERY carby Sunday.
– Apple Pie Larabar
– Fruit – 3 pluots, 1 yellow peach, 3 donut peaches
– LOTS of homemade rice cakes (sweet rice powder, water, dried mango, dried apricot, raisins, walnuts, pecans, and touch of sea salt) – I always forget to take a pic because I’m too busy stuffing my face with them. I’ve mentioned in a previous post how they’re like crack to me.
– 1 sweet potato
– Veggies, which don’t really count.

Some of the dried fruit in the rice cakes definitely had added sugars. I would really like to know what about the rice cakes make them so irresistible to me. They’re super filling and very high in calories, yet I can’t stop until they’re gone. Maybe it was because I didn’t have any meat in the house again. Then I started thinking that I might keep going overboard with fruit and with rice cakes because I just don’t do well on a low carb paleo diet. I think eating moderate carb might work better for me, especially because I am pretty active. I’m currently looking into the perfect health diet. It’s quite similar to the paleo diet except the inclusion of white rice as a safe starch and that starches in general are considered an important part of the diet. Important to note that it’s WHITE rice, not brown rice. I personally wouldn’t be able to eat a pound of starches every day, though I did yesterday with those rice cakes and sweet potatoes. So once again I’ve failed at being 95% strict paleo for 30 days at only day 6. However, I’m going to keep going with my 30 days of food logging. When I am “off-plan,” it will be like yesterday where I just ate a lot of starches.

I do feel that I need to cut back a lot on my fruit intake. This will be much easier now that my promotional Tiny’s Organics CSA membership is over. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten so much fruit until I started getting a lot of different kinds every week! My new CSA has way more veggies than fruits.

There is no one perfect way of eating for everyone. What works for one individual might not work for another. I’m having fun experimenting with what works best for me to be my happiest and healthiest self. I think this 30 days of food logging thing will be very helpful in determining that!

5 Responses to “Adding starches to my diet”

  1. I love eggs benedict! I might have to make one with some of the lox I have.

    I got some pluots this weekend at the farmers market too! So delicious! I had to stop at 2lbs as I also had a bunch of strawberries and raspberries too.

    I’ve also looked at the perfect health diet. More is allowed which, makes it easier to follow. I’ve actually been following it more than being strictly paleo. I’ve been looking for the book at used book stores without any luck. I might breakdown and buy it new. When I finish it I can send it your way.

    • Thanks, I’d appreciate that! I’d definitely categorize myself as paleo, but I am taking the starch thing from the perfect health diet into consideration. I’ve never been a big fan of starchy foods so it would just be the occasional rice here and there. It definitely opens up more options when eating out.

  2. I like what you guys are usually up too. This sort of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

