New food, including smoked salmon eggs benedict

I’m actually enjoying posting every single day about food during my 30 day 95+% paleo challenge. This is a paleo food blog after all! If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ve probably noticed two things when it comes to what I make myself to eat. 1. I rarely follow a recipe and usually throw something together out of my head, which also means no real recipe to post either. 2. I tend to like eating the same things over and over again. I especially just like some sort of meat with a side of plain veggies because it’s so easy. Today was not one of those days!

I’m still a fruit monster. Today I had a big yellow peach, a small donut peach, and three nectarines. I had two Larabars: Banana Bread (yum!!!) and Carrot Cake (ehhh). I just picked up a pack of 18 Larabars at Costco! It has Cherry Pie, Apple Pie, and Peanut Butter Cookie (which I won’t be eating since peanuts aren’t paleo). I ate a bunch of cucumbers as well. And now for some new food!!!

Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Sliced cucumber, smoked wild sockeye salmon, 1/2 avocado, 2 poached eggs, and my hollandaise sauce! I explain how I make eggs benedict here. So my only non-paleo item eaten today was 1 tablespoon of butter, definitely within my 95% paleo goal! Anyway, back to this benny. I don’t even know what to say. AMAAAAZING!!!! Possibly the BEST thing I’ve eaten for breakfast in a really long time, why didn’t I think of it before?!? I honestly think that my paleo/primal eggs benedicts are better than the traditional ones with english muffins. So much more flavor without the bread! I loved the crunch of the fresh cucumbers in each carefully stacked bite. And when my perfectly poached egg was cut open and the yolk slowly flowed down the layers… *drool* Did I mention AMAAAAZING?!?!?

20110909-085124.jpg

Sausage and Squash Lettuce Wrap
I cooked two pieces of turkey bacon and one chicken apple sausage in a pan, then added some yellow squash. The squash was from my CSA bag and was a funny looking shape, like a squashed squash or a UFO. It was actually really tasty! Much better than the normal looking squashes. I’ll try to find out what kind it was. Put it in two big pieces of iceberg lettuce with some heirloom tomatoes and avocado! Yum. I really enjoyed the combination of the squash with the sausage.
20110909-085130.jpg

You know what has been missing in my life? Nature. I haven’t been hiking/trail running in a while. I used to be a machine! Trails, crossfit, climbing, MMA, Bikram, skating… non-stop intense activity. What happened? Oh yeah, the highly unusual month I had of poor choices, food and otherwise.

Tomorrow is going to be an exciting day! I am doing my first wingsuit jumps tomorrow! There will be a BBQ at the dropzone with 80lbs of meat in a smoker! How many times have I mentioned that skydivers have the best BBQs?? Then I’m going out to dinner with my family at one of my absolute favorite restaurants for my dad’s birthday. I’ll start moving again on Sunday.

2 Responses to “New food, including smoked salmon eggs benedict”

  1. The eggs benedict and the lettuce wrap look so good. The squash sounds like pattypan squash. It’s one of my favorite summer squash varieties.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

