Food logging is hard

As I mentioned in my last post, I am doing a 30 day paleo challenge and logging everything I eat during this time. I even made a Sparkpeople account to track my macronutrients and calories while having a handy dandy food log accessible from both my phone and notebook. The morning was great, I even weighed my food! Might as well be meticulous if I’m going to do this, right? I ended up eating out for two meals today and realized that I have no idea how to track restaurant food! I guess I can just estimate by looking at it? I’m not about to stop eating out and have no social life during my 30 days.

Before I left the house:

  • 40g raw organic carrots
  • 2 slices of prosciutto di parma
  • 150g of organic Jupiter donut peaches
  • 2 slices of Applegate organic uncured turkey bacon
  • 1 organic free range egg
  • 20g Haas avocado
  • 200g organic yellow peach
  • 1 Coconut Bliss Naked Coconut Bar – I was so excited to find this in bar form. I can stop at one, whereas it’s hard for me to close the lid on a pint!

20110906-105608.jpg

20110906-105615.jpg

20110906-105621.jpg

I had lunch at La Isla, a Puerto Rican restaurant in Ballard – I ordered the Pernil Special – “a generous portion of slow roasted pork shoulder, marinated for days and roasted overnight. complimented with our homemade mojito flamboyan (a roasted red pepper, garlic and rice vinegar sauce) MUY DELICIOSO!!!” As an entree, this was supposed to be served with “rice & beans, tostones, an avocado wedge and mojito sauce. Substitute rice & beans with salad, sweet mashed potatoes or Arroz con Gandules for $1.25 more as well as maduros instead of tostones for $1 more.” I definitely got the salad and the maduros, which are ripened sliced pantains. This was sooooo good. It was my first time eating at La Isla and I can’t believe I hadn’t tried it before. The salad and pork were both excellent!! I also enjoyed the maduros. I will definitely be coming back.

20110906-105627.jpg

After walking around Ballard for a while, I went to Axtion Club for boxing and the MMA workout class. 2 hours of nonstop exercise! I felt amazing afterwards. It also made me feel better that I’m not at all out of shape despite feeling rather lethargic from the crappy food hangover.

I would have stopped eating after lunch to do my 6 hour window of eating for intermittent fasting, but I met up with hungry friends after my workout. We went to El Chupacabra for some Mexican food. I ordered a taco salad and had to take out so many things the last time I was there. This time I ordered soft tacos and asked for no tortillas. The result? Three lumps of beef, onions, cilantro, lettuce, onions, and avocado. No pic since my phone was dead, but it was delicious! Very meaty. I definitely got more meat than my friends who ordered the tacos with the tortillas.

No plans to eat out today, so day 2 will be easier in terms of food logging. I am spending the day researching more grad school programs and am participating in the SOPHAS virtual fair to talk to different schools that I am interested in!

Leave a Reply

