The end of a long vacation

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday weekend! I went camping at Nahalem Bay State Park on the Oregon coast for 2 nights! I had a lot of fun meeting new friends, playing baseball and frisbee, sitting around the fire, listening to the boys play guitar, and just being on a real beach! It had been years since I’ve camped at a campground/park. Talk about luxury! Cell phone service, power outlets, running water, picnic tables, real bathrooms, hot showers… Felt pretty strange to have all those amenities! So many cars, RVs, people, children, and dogs! But it qualifies as camping since I slept in my beloved tent (best tent ever), in my beloved sleeping bag (love!), on my not as beloved Thermarest Women’s ProLite 4 (very little padding). Perhaps I should start doing gear/product reviews/recommendations! I’m pretty much obsessed and madly in love with all my gear for my various hobbies.

Blue skies, sunshine, the ocean, and super soft sand… Oregon and Washington coasts pretty much look exactly the same. I could never live in a landlocked state!
20110905-100615.jpg

I began the weekend eating my weight in Larabars (all natural fruit and nut only bars) and Tanka Bars (Native American buffalo and cranberry bars) along with some fruit, prosciutto, hazelnuts, and paleo-friendly sausage… But I soon gave up on trying to be paleo and ate whatever was available. I had no idea what kind of camping it was going to be so I was unable to plan my food very well. Actually, the theme of this trip was to not plan at all! So there was definitely a lot of junk food and beer consumed this weekend. I’m pretty sure that I’ve eaten more junk in the past 4 weeks than I have in the 10 months before that! You know how you always eat worse on vacation? Well I need vacation to be over now because I actually feel rather ill.

And I had been doing pretty well last week too!

100% certified organic breakfast of uncured bacon, two eggs, heirloom tomato, carrots, and cucumber

20110905-100555.jpg

Buffalo ribeye steak with roasted veggies
20110905-100605.jpg

 

I’ve had three consecutive weeks of vacations – SFBay, the SDO boogie, and this Oregon coast camping trip. Vacation from vacation really, since my whole life right now is one big extended vacation from school. I want to stay home for a while. I feel terrible for leaving my birds so many days this last month… breaks my heart every time I leave and come back to them! I also need to get back to a stable eating, sleeping, and exercising schedule. No more of these last minute, unplanned trips!

But the title of this post actually refers to how my vacation from school is coming to an end. I’m planning on taking some post-bac classes this upcoming fall quarter. I’ve started actively researching grad schools for specific programs that I may be interested in for my career goals. I’ll be starting the application process in a couple weeks. It’s time for me to get serious again about my education and future! While this extended break was very much needed and has been incredible, I’ve been increasingly feeling restless. So it’s definitely time for it to end and for me to move on to the next chapter in my life. I plan on posting about my grad school app process as I go through it!

Random fact: I now proudly wear my Vibrams out in public. It’s crazy how much I have changed… old Jeanna wouldn’t have been caught dead in these anywhere, much less wear them to the movies! (I took this pic before the previews even started.)
20110905-100610.jpg

 

Since my last 30 day paleo challenge pretty much failed by day 3, I’m going to try again. This time, I am going to hold myself accountable by posting everything I eat on a daily basis. I’ve had many requests to do food log posts in the past, but hated the whole concept of having to log what I eat so I never did. I do see the value in it though. I would be able to track my caloric and macronutrient intakes and really find out what works best for me. We’ll see how long this lasts! I am also planning on fully incorporating intermittent fasting as well. I would like to give it a solid try so I can judge for myself if it’s all that it’s hyped up to be. Rather than full fasting days, I think I’ll take the eat only during certain hours of the day route; eat 1pm-7pm. Your support and encouragement will be very much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

