Traffic ruins my workouts

I still haven’t made it to hot yoga. I miss it so much and my back definitely needs it. But I can’t seem to make it to the studio! It’s hard when I miss the morning class because I have to time food around yoga. I haaaate hot yoga on a full or even partially full stomach.

I barely made it to MMA yesterday. I was excited for my awesome 3 straight hours of boxing, MMA workout, and Capoeira classes. I left my house 55 minutes before I had to be there for boxing. It’s only 24 miles away and usually takes 30-40 minutes to get there. But traffic was AWFUL. It took me 1.5 hours to get there so I missed my boxing class. The MMA workout class is my favorite out of all the classes offered at Axtion Club, so at least I got to do that and relieve my post-traffic stress. Then I found out that Capoeira was canceled. Seriously. I ate to prepare for a 3 hour workout (high in calories) and only got an hour. So I had all this left over energy. I felt so robbed of my workout high! One hour is just not enough for me even after several weeks of being pretty lazy. Kicking was kinda painful! My shins were already covered in huge bruises from kickboxing the other day, but now it’s like I have bruises on top of bruises.

Staying paleo is so easy when you have a lot of food at home that can be combined into endless possibilities. But I tend to always go for what I already like and what’s easy. While I do try new recipes from time to time, I’m happy to eat the same things frequently. I will try to switch it up more often so that my blog isn’t so boring!

Buffalo and portabella burger duo
Ground buffalo, uncured organic bacon, caramelized onion, and fried egg on one side. The other was a portabella mushroom, green leaf lettuce, heirloom tomato, and avocado. I started by cooking the bacon and used the fat to cook everything else. I loved eating everything together! Also, the heirloom tomatoes from my CSA were among the best I’ve ever tasted!

20110901-110840.jpg

 

Roasted vegetables
I love roasted veggies, especially when it involves a lot of root veggies and squashes. There’s such an earthy taste to it and everything tastes sweeter, which makes my incorrigible sweet tooth pretty happy. Butternut squash, yellow squash, zucchini, onions, garlic cloves, and unpeeled dragon carrots roasted at 400 degrees for over an hour. There might be little nutritional value after being cooked so thoroughly, but I was going for taste!
20110901-110846.jpg

 

I’ve been snacking on a lot of prosciutto, pistachios, almonds, peaches, and pluots lately. I’m not sure why, but I’ve been much hungrier than usual the past several weeks. Even with all the paleo food that I’m eating! I just haven’t been feeling satiated even when my stomach is completely full. Maybe because I haven’t reduced the sugar content in my diet with all the fruit I’ve been consuming? I know I’ve been eating enough fat and protein.

What is everyone doing for Labor Day weekend? I am going camping on the Oregon Coast by the sand dunes! I hope I get to try sandboarding! I will be attempting a 100% paleo camping trip and picked up a bunch of paleo snacks. Lots of fun coming up this month, which hopefully means more interesting posts. I guess I’m always surprised that so many people seem to read and like my blog because I still have no idea what I’m doing, haha. Hope you all have a wonderful extended weekend, I will post again on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

