Food from last week

It has been a while since my last post! I’ve been tweeting, since I started using twitter again as a companion for this blog. Posting a tweet takes sooo much less work than maintaining a real blog! I went to Oregon for a boogie (skydiving event) on Friday, totally unplanned. The next post will be all about how impossible it is to stay paleo at those things! I’ll have to edit some video to share with you guys as well. I started a 30 day paleo challenge yesterday after 3 days of really crappy eating at the boogie. I feel like the entire month of August has been a struggle for me, so I think it would be great for me to commit to a month of eating fully paleo. Let’s see how long it lasts. Day 1 went great yesterday.

Before the boogie, I was doing pretty well getting back to normal and making paleo meals for myself. So these are some food pics from last week.

Grassfed ribeye with 4 different kinds of squashes and onion
I’ve decided that my greatest cooking tragedies always involve overcooking meat because I’m so easily distracted. This was the first time in a very long time that my steak didn’t come out perfectly medium rare. It was well done! Hardly any pink. What  a complete waste of meat, right? But it was tender enough that I could still enjoy it. Just not as much as if it would have been red-pink in the middle!

20110825-085828.jpg

Beefalo bacon burger
W/grilled onion and avocado.One of my favorite meals! I could eat this every day.
20110825-104836.jpg

Korean food without rice– bulgogi, kimchi, and banchans
So this isn’t fully paleo because there is soy sauce in the marinade for the bulgogi (Korean marinated beef), but I don’t mind having soy sauce here and there. Banchan = side dishes. Here we have kimchi, cucumber onion salad type thing, zucchini, and eggplant.

20110825-104850.jpg

Lavender duck, turnip, blackberry and hazelnut saladPoppy, Seattle
This was a salad from the bar at one of my absolute favorite restaurants. I don’t even know where to start with describing how delicious this salad was! I particularly enjoyed the turnips. The turnips!! Who would’ve thought! I’ve always loved their lavender duck and the hazelnuts were perfect. Definitely try this if you’re in the area.
20110825-104842.jpg

My CSA bag from last week contained nectarines, pluots, peaches, cucumbers, squashes, cherries, apples, carrots, and melons!
20110825-085842.jpg

Leave a Reply

