SFBay trip eats, part 1

I’m posting from my phone, so apologies in advance if there are lots of mistakes.

I’m pleased to say that I am back to eating fully paleo, even though I am currently away from home in the bay area! This is the longest trip yet, away from my own food and my birds! 4 nights, 5 days.

Like I’ve mentioned before, I use fasting as a means to reset my body and eating habits when I feel sick from eating a bunch of crap. I fasted for 40 hours, drinking only water and some green tea. I also did two Bikram yoga sessions within 15 hours of each other. The result? I felt completely cleansed of all the toxins I had consumed in the four days prior. I also lost the 5lbs of water I had gained in those four days. You forget how uncomfortable it is to be constantly bloated when you eat paleo and don’t retain so much water.

I broke my fast with some fruit, then made myself a proper meal. I roasted pork with onions, yellow squash, butternut squash, and garlic. I love roasted veggies and they’re even better roasted in pork fat!

20110818-112906.jpg

20110818-112912.jpg

I had an early morning flight to Oakland the next day. Because I didn’t want to deal with finding paleo friendly food at the airport for breakfast during my layover at PDX, I took some prosciutto and cherries with me as snacks.

I also made sure to stop by Whole Foods after getting to Oakland so I could have snacks for the week. I picked up more prosciutto, blackberries, coconut water, and some Coconut Bliss.

Dinner the first night before flying in the tunnel was a ribeye steak with steamed veggies from Texas Roadhouse. Not grassfed, but the steak was seasoned and cooked perfectly. I had two sides of veggies – just broccoli and baby carrots. It was dark and I forgot to use the flash.
20110818-112923.jpg

I had a delicious burger at Chop Bar, as you can see in the pic. No bun, add cowboy onions. I loved the arugula salad. I definitely need more arugula in my life. Soooo good!!
20110818-112933.jpg

I’ll try to blog more tomorrow, I’m keeping this short. I feel like so much more has been going on! I’ll post properly when I return home on Saturday night.

Leave a Reply

