WHY did I eat/drink that?!?

There’s nothing like waking up in the morning horrified at what you consumed the day before… Or in my case, the previous 4 days. Yep, I was off the paleo boat for FOUR days, which is pretty unusual for me since I absolutely hate how I feel when I don’t eat 80-100% paleo. In fact, I feel absolutely deplorably wretched right now. 1. My stomach hates me. 2. Forget my stomach, my entire body hates me. 3. I’ve gained at least 5lbs of water weight and I can feel it.

The last several days have been filled with obnoxious amounts of sugar and salt from all sorts of non-paleo foods. I’ve also eaten my weight in fruit and almonds because I was bored from being too lazy to do anything. Then there’s the alcohol. SO. MUCH. ALCOHOL.

In my current delirious state of post-traumatic eating episodes, the only clear thought I have is: How did I live like that for so many years?!? How do the majority of people still live like that?!? I think this feeling of lethargy and ill-health might just be the accepted norm for people who haven’t experienced a life free of grains and alcohol.

I went to my friend’s wedding on a beautiful Friday afternoon. It was the shortest ceremony ever! As soon as I saw the cupcakes, I knew that my willpower to stay paleo was weak. I have such a soft spot for cupcakes!

20110813-101154.jpg

 

I think I ate two, possibly three. I don’t even remember because I had been drinking wine. 2 tiny glasses and I was plastered in a cute, bubbly way and not a sloppy mess kind of way… or so I like to think, haha.
20110813-101208.jpg

 

Then there was the food – nothing paleo-friendly. I was suuuper hungry from not having eaten much beforehand and from all the wine. I always eat like a ravenous fat kid when I’m drunk… or maybe that’s just all the time. After my appetizer of the entire favor box full of M&Ms (a childhood favorite), I grabbed some food. I don’t even like beans or potato salad, but I got them both along with a BBQ pulled pork sandwich, mac and cheese, and some pickles. I did not eat the buns of the sandwich, but ate everything else against my better judgment.

20110813-101216.jpg

 

 

Friday night, I went to the Dash Berlin show, which was a white party. I have a thing for crazy fake eyelashes and had found these white feather ones at Sephora. They glowed under the black light, which I thought was pretty nifty! I rarely go out anymore. I think the last time was in May? But sometimes, I like to take a break from being my normal freakishly healthy self and party like I’m still in college. And I did just that on Friday night prefunc’ing with Captain and Cokes followed by Tokyo teas (it’s like a long island, but with midori instead of coke) at the venue. I danced for 5 hours with one of my absolute favorite people in the whole entire world! LOVE YOU, KP, happy birthday! Sometime during the night, I also ate a Seattle dog. It’s just not a proper drunken night out in Seattle without one! They’re hot dogs with cream cheese (I also add grilled onions and jalapeños). I find that most non-Seattlites think that sounds disgusting. Don’t knock it till you try it, I’d never eat a hot dog without cream cheese!

20110813-101247.jpg

 

 

Needless to say, I was rather hungover on Saturday. By rather hungover, I mean I was a useless lump in my bed all day. And the memories of all the SAD junk I ate the day/night before were starting to come back to me. You’d think that I would have spent my recovery day getting back on the paleo bandwagon. Well I love fruit and Korean food when I’m hungover. I probably ate most of my fruit from my CSA bag (a week’s worth of fruit) yesterday. I also had bibimbap, which isn’t too bad – brown rice and hot pepper paste (has soy in it), but otherwise healthy full of veggies and meat (all the veggies are cooked in sesame oil). However, it is pretty high in sodium from the hot pepper paste, since I like mine to be super spicy. The fried egg on top after it’s all mixed is absolutely necessary! Best hangover food ever.
20110813-101228.jpg

20110813-101237.jpg

 

I had sooo many peaches and pluots, as well as nectarines and cherries. These are some of the best stone fruits I’ve ever had!

20110813-101315.jpg

These yellow plums are from our own tree! Not fully ripe yet.

20110813-101323.jpg

 

I am fasting today. It has become a necessity with how awful I’m feeling to let my body just cleanse and recover from being bombarded by food and alcohol. I would really like to incorporate regular intermittent fasting into my life. I’m also going to hot yoga in the evening, I can’t believe I haven’t gone in a week! It’s going to feel soooo gooooood! I can’t wait to go back to being fully paleo so I can feel amazing again. But the break was a GREAT reminder of why I eat paleo in the first place!

Leave a Reply

