Lake Serene and Bridal Veil Falls

On Saturday, I took my friend on her very first hike. I chose Lake Serene and Bridal Veil Falls because it sounded like a beautiful, moderate day hike to me (7.2 miles round trip, 2000ft elevation gain) and it was only about an hour away. As usual these days, I was overflowing with energy the entire time. I started at a brisk pace, but could not help but run every so often because I LOVE trail running. Then I would wait for my friend to catch up as she gave me death glares. It was really challenging for her on the way up, but I was so proud of her for trekking along at her own pace and not giving up. SO PROUD! I was probably super annoying with how happy I was running and skipping around. Several people on trail actually commented on my fitness and my speed as I passed by. I guess it’s pretty noticeable when most people are huffing and puffing slowly up the hill. I just have SO. MUCH. ENERGY. I get anxious going slow. My heart rate and breathing stayed moderate the whole time and the hike was easy on my body. No soreness whatsoever. I feel like I’m in better shape with each passing day. I consequently feel like I have to push myself to go further and faster, to lift heavier, and to do more than the previous day in order to just keep up with myself. Where is my limit? Is there a limit? I’m constantly impressed by my body’s ability to meet every challenge by becoming stronger each time. I’m not just living anymore, I am THRIVING. I’ve blogged about how incredibly amazing I feel eating paleo every day. I think I’ve reached a new level of amazing now that I’ve added exercise into the mix. It’s an everlasting natural high feeling this healthy and happy, inside and out. My one wish would be for everyone to attain this level of vitality and happiness – I’m pretty sure we’d have world peace as a result. Unfortunately, I realize that such a lifestyle is impossible for many people. I am incredibly lucky to even have the option to move and eat the way I do.

I took water, coconut water, raw almonds, a banana, 90% dark chocolate (higher the cocoa content, lower the sugar – I think this one only has 3g of sugar per serving and it has no soy or dairy), hot coppa, and prosciutto! Perfect snacks for a hike.
20110731-022400.jpg

And now lots of pictures of the hike!  I live in such a gorgeous state! I wish pictures could better convey the beauty of nature, but nature is really something you should see for yourself while out in it.
20110731-022414.jpg

Bridal Veil Falls
20110731-022434.jpg

That’s me! I had fun on all the big boulders.
20110731-022443.jpg

20110731-022456.jpg

20110731-022504.jpg

Silliness on trail.

20110731-022513.jpg

Lake Serene – the water is SO clear.

20110731-022543.jpg

20110731-022553.jpg

20110731-022612.jpg

20110731-022634.jpg

20110731-022644.jpg

20110731-022656.jpg

20110731-022710.jpg

20110731-022724.jpg

20110731-022737.jpg

The start of the falls and the valley below.

20110731-022751.jpg

20110731-022813.jpg

20110731-022823.jpg

The cold water felt sooo good on my feet on the way down. Have I mentioned how much I love my Vibrams?!? I can just go in the water, no problem.

20110731-022837.jpg

Post-hike meal: grassfed rib eye and a fried egg with sauteed mushrooms, zucchini, and onions

I was ravenous when I got back. Steak with a runny egg yolk is my new favorite thing!

20110731-022848.jpg

A peach for dessert… I also had some Coconut Bliss!

20110731-022857.jpg

I slept wonderfully on Saturday night and went to Bikram yoga the next morning. It was my last day at Hot Yoga of Woodinville since my Living Social voucher expired. I made sure to tell Sandy how much I’ve appreciated her guidance this past month and that I will definitely be back after I use all my other hot yoga vouchers. I saw so much progress in my yoga practice thanks to how much she cares about each student’s practice. I’ve mentioned before how she always shares words of wisdom during class. Yesterday she said that people who are attracted to Bikram yoga and practice regularly are very hard working people, that it’s difficult to teach them to relax. Now, I don’t know if I’d describe myself as “hard-working”, but I definitely have a hard time relaxing. My last post was about how I force myself to take rest days and how bored I am staying still. I started this post with how I always have to push myself harder and do more. My idea of relaxation is Bikram yoga, which certainly is challenging as well. I think it’s time to add meditation back into my life. A balance between relaxation and activity is key to a sustainable lifestyle and I am definitely skewed towards activity right now.

Ground Elk and Veggies

I have a lot of ground elk in my fridge.I had no idea what to make yesterday, so I threw a bunch of stuff in a pan and made myself something that looks like gourmet dog food.

  1. Chop up onions,mushrooms, zucchini, butternut squash, and garlic.
  2. Add veggies into sauté pan with olive oil and cook until squash is softened.
  3. Add ground elk until brown.
  4. Crack an egg into the pan and stir everything around.
  5. Tear up some fresh basil and add at the last moment.
I started eating it when I felt like it was missing something. One swirl of balsamic vinegar later, it was DELICIOUS! I will definitely be making this again. Nothing I love more than 5 minute meals!

20110731-022907.jpg

One Comment to “Lake Serene and Bridal Veil Falls”

  1. So jealous! Beautiful photos. I also love runny eggs…some people say they can’t eat breakfast with me as a result. ha ha.

    Elk sounds interesting. I’ll have to try it one of these days since I need a little more variety in the protein department.

Leave a Reply

