More paleo Korean food

I apologize for the lack of posts this week. I’ve been super lazy! I messed up my lower back during my 8 hours of trying to get comfortable at the airport. I went to Bikram on Tuesday and realized that I wasn’t actually injured. I had full flexibility and range of motion without pain – heat is amazing for loosening up everything. I felt so much better… which is why I decided to go climbing afterwards. Dumb, because it just clenched up again. I usually think of climbing as an arms and legs thing, but it’s really a whole body activity. I learned that hot yoga should always be done after strenuous activity, not before. Luckily, I had a very nice person crack my neck and back for me yesterday and I am feeling much better. I haven’t been cooking and I have very little food to post here. I was also showing someone around Seattle and ended up not being as paleo as usual, which probably contributes to my overall lethargy.

Have I mentioned how much I love having dinner with paleo friends? Last night was no exception with more than half the table being paleo. The server caught on that none of us ate mashed potatoes and wanted extra veggies instead with our steak. I loved all the conversations we had about food and health! While it’s always nice to debate with vegetarians, vegans, and SADers, it’s wonderful to share knowledge and experiences with like-minded eaters. They suggested that I should try to meet Robb Wolf (whom they know personally) in person the next time I’m in the bay area. That would be awesome!

Paleo or not, I’m lucky to have some truly amazing and inspirational people in my life. But then again, how many mediocre people do you know once you actually know them? I’m starting to think that everyone is a potential future friend.

Anyway, I had lots of simple Korean food this week!

Beef knuckle bone(?) broth
I no longer require salt for my broths – just black pepper, green onion, and minced garlic. I think it’s important to try and eat as much of an animal as possible instead of just the muscle. Not only to minimize waste, but for all the nutrients as well. The lumps you see are bits of fat, meat, and cartilage.

20110720-082058.jpg

 

Pan fried pork and kimchi
At Korean BBQ places there is always pork belly slices on the menu. I personally prefer sliced pork shoulder because it’s more meaty and less fatty. I just cooked the pork slices in a frying pan along with some garlic. When the pork fat started collecting in the pan, I just added some kimchi. Kimchi is best eaten uncooked so you can get the healthy bacteria, but I like the flavor of cooked kimchi. I wrap everything up in red leaf lettuce as I eat.

20110720-082106.jpg

20110720-082116.jpg

 

I’m planning on cooking a whole bunch this next week, so I’ll be posting more often again. My friend gave me elk round steaks and ground elk that his friend hunted. Yum! I’m also starting MMA classes as soon as my back is back to normal! That should be interesting!

One Comment to “More paleo Korean food”

  1. I’ve noticed that the wait staff in southern California (where I have lots of my meals out when I’m traveling for work) seem attuned to the low carb/Primal/Paleo thing because when I order breakfast (typically an eggs+meat+potatoes+bread combo plate) I’ll ask for “no bread” and they’ll often ask “potatoes okay?” I don’t eat a lot of potatoes, but I usually get them and eat a couple bites along with my protein. I guess they’re used to the more hard core no bread/no taters crowd!

Leave a Reply

