Airport eats and paleo friends

My fourth trip to the bay area for tunnel time was my most successful yet! Not only did I see a lot of progress in my flying, I also stayed at least 90% paleo! My Vibrams were awesome for tunnel flying! I’m so in love with those shoes. I just got home from the longest day at the Oakland airport (got there really early, couldn’t get an earlier flight, my flight was 2 hours delayed) so this will be a quick food post and I will talk about the rest of the trip later.

 

Cajun RockfishAnthony’s, Seatac airport
Actually, I don’t really remember what it was called on the menu. Since my flight out of Seattle was delayed over an hour (surprise surprise, I was flying Southwest), I decided to eat at Anthony’s, which is a local seafood restaurant chain. I ordered wild rockfish from the fresh fish section of the menu. It was covered in cajun spices and came with a pineapple salsa. The sides were supposed to be rice and broccoli, but I asked for extra broccoli without the rice. This was the best airport food I’ve ever had!! Healthy and filling at less than $20! Crazy! Further down this post you will see how awful OAK is compared to SEA in terms of food choices.

20110716-022642.jpg

 

Ribs, chicken, tri-tip lunch comboJon Jon’s BBQ, San Jose, CA
Between my tunnel sessions on Thursday, I met up with a friend who took me to this little BBQ joint in San Jose. It smelled amazing, thanks to this huge smoker out front!

20110716-023000.jpg

It’s a pretty limited menu that serves about four kinds of meat with sides of baked beans and potato salad. I picked the lunch combo that would allow me to sample a bit of the baby back ribs, chicken, and tri tip beef and omitted the sides. I wish I had asked for BBQ sauce on the side as well, I didn’t realize they would pour so much on top of the meat. I scraped most of it off as it was too sweet for me and definitely didn’t taste paleo (I think there was corn syrup in it). The meat itself was sooo tender! They don’t have any veggies whatsoever on their menu, so this was a meat only meal for me. As much as I like meat, I need at least an equal amount of veggies to be completely happy.

20110716-023007.jpg

 

Veggie Buffet at Fresh Choice

I ate here on my last trip and was a little disappointed in the lack of meat, but impressed with all the veggies offered. Well after my meat only meal, I was SUPER happy to stuff my face with fresh veggies!!!

20110716-023126.jpg

 

By Friday I was sleep deprived  and hungry. I snacked on prosciutto and coconut water after my morning tunnel session and had lunch at an Indian buffet. I ate a little bit of rice and dairy-based curry, but there were several paleo-friendly options like chicken tikka and veggies for me. I eat gluten-free if I can’t eat paleo; rice and dairy doesn’t seem to affect my body, but I try to avoid them anyway.

My fellow paleo/primal eating skydiver friend Krisanne invited me over for an AMAAAZING paleo dinner on Friday! I love eating with paleo friends. Food is meant to be shared and meals with paleo friends are the best!! Everything was DELICIOUS and I was so happy to have a healthy, home cooked meal while on my trip. It can be stressful to find paleo-friendly food options while traveling, so I was grateful for this wonderful meal with such wonderful company. Her cat Franklin is so cute. He had the tiniest, squeakiest meow I’ve ever heard! Check out all this beautiful food!!!

Strawberry cucumber salad 
I love when my food is colorful! This was so fresh with the perfect amount of crunch from the red onions and cucumbers while the strawberries lent a tart sweetness. There was also fresh basil in it! And isn’t her teak table awesome?

20110716-023255.jpg

Roasted Pork Chops and Peaches
I love the use of fruit in pork dishes and this was no exception. I had seconds! The pork itself was super high quality and it was just a beautiful, tasty plate of food. The picture doesn’t do it justice! I will definitely be making this for myself at home now that I have the recipe. Krisanne of course skipped the couscous. She said she used red wine vinegar since she didn’t have white. I’ll probably also use red. She also mentioned that the recipe works just as well with nectarines and plums. The fresh basil leaves are a must!

20110716-023302.jpg

Mangoes w/salt, chili powder, and lime juice
Dessert! Apparently this is a common way to eat mangos in certain parts of Latin America? I don’t know, but it was good. Like Sean said, the flavor of the mango opens up with the addition of the salt, chili powder, and lime juice. It was interesting! I only ever have my mangos plain, so the extra flavor was well, interesting. Not sure what other word to use! I always eat my fruit plain, but since having that pineapple with cinnamon at the Brazilian place and now this chili mango, I’m thinking spices can go well with fruit!

20110716-023317.jpg

 

Airports are generally full of fast food. While Seatac has some better options, Terminal 2 at Oakland is awful. AWFUL. In my 8 hours at the airport, I barely ate anything because I just could not bring myself to eat SAD food despite being hungry and tired. Vino Volo the best I could find at OAK after walking around and reading every menu. I had the small plates of Artisan Cured Meats and Roasted Chicken Breast Salad without dressing. One piece of prosciutto, two slices of salami, and 2 slices of coppa with stone ground mustard and tiny pickles for $8. EIGHT DOLLARS. And artisan?! Ha! I know my cured meat, that was definitely not worth $8. The salad was $6 and pretty good with the pine nuts, dried cranberries, and goat cheese. Though it was overpriced (what isn’t overpriced at the airport?), I felt really good about eating the best possible choices available in the entire terminal.

20110716-023421.jpg

20110716-023428.jpg

 

I’m beyond excited for hot yoga tomorrow morning!!! This body really needs it. And I’m never flying Southwest again. They reel you in with their low fares, but they steal hours of your time and stress you out like no other. I’m sticking with Virgin and Alaskan for my flights to CA now!

4 Responses to “Airport eats and paleo friends”

  1. It was fun entertaining someone who appreciates this kind of eating! Glad we could push your taste buds a bit. As for Oakland, I so rarely eat there that I don’t think I realized quite how bad it is. The prices are horrible, that’s for sure! Seattle has improved so much in the last few years – the addition of that center court area between the terminals really opened up good options.

  2. Paleo dinner looks amazing. I’m going to have to try out that recipe. I have to say that probably of all the airports that I’ve been to, SeaTac has the most edible options. In general though, I don’t even try and bother with food at the airport. I have to say I’m impressed that you were able to forage up the options that you did at OAK.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

