Lunchbox Lab, what happened to you?!?

I finally made it to the “new” Lunchbox Laboratory after all this time. After hearing how everything I loved about the old Lunchbox Lab was taken away and replaced by a limited menu, I decided to boycott in order to keep my beloved memories of the old hole in the wall burger joint intact. This was my post-climbing meal on friday with a bunch of skydivers. I was definitely hungry enough for a massive Lunchbox Lab burger (sans buns). I don’t even have the heart nor the energy to write a real review, I was so utterly disappointed. So I’ll just talk a little about the food.

Lamb “burger”
I’ve always built my own burger there, but this was my first time excluding buns and asking for extra lettuce. My lamb patty was 50% the size of what they used to be. The balsamic onions were the same, but there was noticeably less. They didn’t give me extra lettuce – just the standard side of lettuce, tomato, red onion, and a pickle slice. I got truffle mayo as the sauce on the side – as delicious as I remember! I’ll definitely be looking into making some paleo truffle mayo in the near future. Truffles make everything better. While I no longer order a milkshake and side of sweet potato fries, that’s still no excuse for how tiny and sad my food looks. I wouldn’t mind so much had the prices gone down, but they’ve stayed the same. However, they’re probably still the best burger restaurant in town.

20110711-091602.jpg

Recent eats at home:
Roasted pork w/ Balsamic reduction
Roasted some pork shoulder with onions and garlic like I always do, but then I made the sauce from the lamb recipe from my previous post. I’m in love with the sauce and I’ll probably put it on everything now. So good with the onions and garlic too!!
20110711-091609.jpg

Butternut Squash Fries
Super simple. Cut up squash, toss in olive oil, sprinkle with sea salt, bake in 400 degree oven until desired texture. I like mine mushy with a bit of crisp on the edges. Best snack ever… ok, maybe second best next to prosciutto.
20110711-091615.jpg

Not much food to show today. I’ve been too busy to cook a lot lately, so my meals haven’t been noteworthy. I’m absolutely exhausted from my long day and I just keep adding to my schedule!

My Monday:
Dawn – wake up naturally, feed birds, curse my new inability to sleep in past 6am
10am-3pm – Volunteer at Lifelong AIDS Alliance
5:30-6pm – Coach ice skating
Plus about 1.5 hours of total driving.

I’m super tired by sunset and like to be asleep by 10pm.

Crossfit at 7am tomorrow followed by 5 hours of volunteering, then hopefully fitting in some Bikram yoga if possible and having enough energy left to attend a skydiver BBQ.

Leave a Reply

