Happy 4th of July!

It finally feels like summer! But I haven’t been able to fully enjoy this weekend due to a massive case of DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness) in just my triceps. I think being sore all over is preferable to such localized pain. I felt great after Crossfit on Thursday and Friday, and then on Saturday? Ouch, useless arms. I couldn’t bend them without wanting to cry. So what did I do? I went to Bikram yoga on Saturday for the most painful yoga experience of my life. The heat felt so good, but the stretching of my arms was just AWFUL. But I do think that the 90 minutes of heat and detox did me a world of good! I finally started to feel better yesterday and today I’m finally back to full range of motion without pain! I’m definitely sticking with the Crossfit and hot yoga combination. I bought a Living Social voucher for an unlimited month of classes at Hot Yoga of Woodinville, a certified Bikram studio. I’m hoping to go almost every day to fully reap the benefits of Bikram yoga. I’ll be starting off my 4th with some yoga after this post.

I’ve been bad about taking pictures of food this weekend. But here are more examples of bunless burgers/burger salads!

Handmade grass-fed ground beef patty, egg, organic portabella mushroom, avocado, and greens from the garden! I would have loved to add a tomato for more flavor and color, but I was out of them.
20110704-075959.jpg

Customized Natural Burger – Red Robin
Red Robin is actually super paleo friendly, they let you customize your order to your heart’s content! I used my Red Robin Customizer iPhone app to see what I could add/take away. The Natural Burger is a great starting point, it’s also the cheapest on the menu by $2 – “For those who like their burgers in the buff, we offer this scantily clad substitute. Includes lettuce, tomatoes, pickles & onions on the side. Served with guest choice of melon or fries.” I asked for lettuce “buns” (aka no buns, protein style) and added bacon and jalapeños. They didn’t give me enough iceberg lettuce for a top bun so I ate this with a knife and fork. You also get way more choices than just melon or fries with free substitutions for various healthier options. I chose the steamed broccoli! I was completely satisfied and content with what I ate.

20110704-080006.jpg

Holiday weekends generally call for lots of non-paleo junk foods. Like ice cream. But don’t waste your X% of non-paleo allowance on low-quality, super processed crap. I think I will start a series of posts on not so horrible, as paleo as possible “cheats” – beginning with Coconut Bliss!

As far as non-dairy ice cream alternatives go, Coconut Bliss is by far the best I’ve ever had. I love their brand philosophy and their ingredients! So far I’ve only tried the Naked Coconut flavor, I love it so much that I haven’t really bothered with trying the other flavors yet. “Ingredients: Organic Coconut Milk (Organic Coconut, Water, Guar Gum*), Organic Agave Syrup, Organic Dried Coconut, Organic Coconut Extract, Organic Fair Trade Vanilla Extract. *We use a tiny amount of guar gum (less than .35%)–which is made by grinding the fiber-rich Indian guar bean–to help maintain Coconut Bliss’s creamy texture.” Not bad at all! And sooo tasty! I love the bits of coconut in it!

20110704-080013.jpg

2 Responses to “Happy 4th of July!”

  1. is coconut ok to consume on a daily basis if your paleo? I was told coconut butter is really good for you, (1-2 tablespoons max a day) but it is really high is saturated fat… what are your thoughts?

Trackbacks

Leave a comment