A wedding + too much alcohol

Congratulations Stacy and Travis!!! It was a beautiful wedding and my friend looked stunning! It was such an honor to be a part of her wedding day!

The rehearsal dinner was really difficult because all the food was ordered for us – bread, house salad, caesar salad, fettucini alfredo, spaghetti with meat sauce, chicken parmesan, and cheesecake. I nibbled on the house salad, tasted the meat sauce, and had a glass of wine. I ended up getting more food after the rehearsal at the hotel’s restaurant.

The wedding day started way too early for me. I accidentally woke up at 4:30am and could not fall back asleep. Then I had to go to the 10:30am hair appointment that the bride set up for us at a hair academy. I am NEVER letting a hair STUDENT touch my hair ever again. Once was enough for my nerves! It was their first time working on a real person!! The hot curler touched my ear at one point! I had major anxiety and I was miserable the entire time. I have really long, thick hair, but it curls easily and quickly in the hands of an experienced professional. Well it took 2 hours to curl it and another 20 minutes to pin one side back. Luckily, it turned out ok – loose wavy curls – because of the nature of my hair and the big curler that was used. At least I didn’t get stuck with tight Heidi/Goldilocks/Medusa curls! I did my own makeup after stopping by at Ulta super quick for some fake lashes and eyeshadow. Whenever I get my makeup done, I end up looking like a clown with really messed up eyebrows. I would post more pictures, but I need permission from the people who are in them.

I pretty much didn’t eat anything until the reception that day. I snacked on salami from a party tray because that was the only even remotely paleo food available to me. But dinner was great! It was a buffet with plenty of paleo friendly options. Prime rib, ham, and fresh veggies and fruit!

20110627-084951.jpg

Despite my food choices, I definitely wasn’t very paleo on Saturday. I ate a couple of cupcakes and I drank a lot of alcohol. A LOT. ALL DAY. A flask full of whisky, 3 vodka tonics, a shot of tequila, and a glass of champagne… possibly more that I don’t remember. You know how I barely drink anymore and how I get drunk after two? Well I was so tired, I didn’t even notice that I was inebriated until well into the reception. But I never felt wasted or anything… until around 3am when I woke up feeling super sick and threw up all night. Yuck. Never again! I’m limiting myself to two drinks from now on.

I was so tired the next day from the lack of sleep that I only did one jump on a gorgeous day perfect for skydiving. 😦 I also had super bad allergies. I’ve noticed that my allergies have improved drastically since eating paleo, but they flare up like crazy when I feel weak after a day of drinking or eating a lot of sugar.

4 Comments to “A wedding + too much alcohol”

  1. I love this lady. Thank you for the awesome post! I’m trying to eat gluten free… and it was soooo hard on the wedding day!

  2. I agree about the allergies! Before I went paleo I had terrible allergies and had to take an allergy pill everyday. Now I only need one on the off chance that I go out and have a few too many drinks, especially beer.

    • Good to hear I’m not the only one! i.e. So I’m not crazy! Many people find it hard to believe that just eating differently can have such an effect on seasonal allergies. But it does! I might try eating some local honey every day too. I have friends who swear by it.

Leave a Reply

