I love Whole Foods!

The last two days have been awesome!!! After years of having trouble with motivation, I’m suddenly super motivated to not just live, but to thrive! And all it took was an answer to the question, “What do I want to do with my life?” I feel like my past two days reflect that – awesome bonding time with friends, awesome food, and awesome climbing. How many more times can I say awesome in one post?

Climbing
I got a membership at the Seattle Bouldering Project on Wednesday! I’ve already gone two days in a row. I love the feeling of accomplishment that you get from being able to see your own progress. Last night I could successfully climb routes that I couldn’t finish on Wednesday. I’m currently climbing most V2 routes pretty comfortably and I think I’ll start attempting some V3s next week. I’ve also overcome the majority of my fear of bouldering – I even jump down from heights that used to make me really nervous! I hope I go more often now that I have a membership so I can continue to improve!
20110623-111634.jpg

And now for some really great food!

Sashimi – Kisaku, Seattle
Wednesday’s post-climbing power meal was sashimi from one of my favorite sushi restaurants. I always try to ask for wild-caught only! But I don’t know enough about sustainable fishing to know which fish are plentiful and which I should avoid ordering. That’s next on my list of topics to research!

20110623-111509.jpg

 

 

Meat from Whole Foods
I love Whole Foods. I think it’s the best supermarket chain around! I just wish there were more of them. I actually prefer getting meat there than at a butcher’s because it’s labeled so well. I love the “Animal Welfare Rating” that indicates how the animal was raised for their meat. The grass fed beef I bought was rated a step 4, pasture centered – “When living outdoors, chickens get to forage, pigs get to wallow and cattle get to roam.” Speaking of roaming cattle, before I opened my eyes and looked at where most meat comes from, I really thought that the world was full of roaming, pastured cows. I had never seen or even heard of a feedlot. If I drive just 30 minutes north of here, there are fields all over with happy cows that are grazing on green grass, lounging with their cow buddies, and mooing and smelling like cows do. Anyway, the rating standard used by Whole Foods is super helpful in making a good choice. I also really like that the origin of the meat is clearly labeled with the name of the ranch and the location. Talbott Ranch has a website with a nice description of how their cows are raised. Apparently the ranch is always open to visitors!

20110623-111520.jpg

Meat for the rest of the week: buffalo ribeye steak, grassfed beef New York steak, grassfed ground beef, and prosciutto! I really like the Principe brand of prosciutto, it’s super tasty and only contains pork and salt.

20110623-111530.jpg

 

 

Buffalo Ribeye Steak

I had eaten buffalo burgers in the past, but this was my first buffalo steak! The meat is definitely leaner than conventional beef, but I think the amount of marbling is comparable to that of grass fed beef. The flavors are pretty close as well. I cooked this steak like I would any other one of my perfect steaks, medium rare. It turned out perfectly, I really enjoyed the meatiness of it. Steamed organic broccolettes on the side. Are broccolettes even real? Broccoli, broccolini, broccolette… they all taste the same.

20110623-111541.jpg

20110623-111551.jpg

20110623-111601.jpg

 

 

BLTA Burger Salad

I was craving a BLTAO paleo burger when I realized that we were out of lettuce. I only had romaine, which are way too skinny and crunchy to be the buns for a burger. So I turned it into a salad! No dressing required; just romaine lettuce, 1 tomato, 1/2 avocado, 2 strips of bacon, and a handmade burger patty! I probably could have just browned the ground beef and had it spread all over the salad. Delicious!

20110623-111612.jpg

 

 

I have a really busy weekend ahead of me. One of my best friends is getting married on Saturday! Today is the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. I am one of the maids of honor and it’s my first time being in a wedding! I’m super excited. I hope my toast makes people cry… in a good way. The rehearsal dinner is at Buca di Beppo, a big family style pasta place with maybe 2 things on the menu that I could possibly make paleo. We’ll see how that goes!

2 Comments to “I love Whole Foods!”

  1. Buy a cow! If you have even a smidge of extra room, I would suggest investing in a deep freezer and buying your beef in bulk. You save a TON of money and you are never more than a quick defrost away from delicious grass fed beefy goodness. Seriously, it changed my life. I buy from 3 Sisters on Whidbey Island (3sistersfamilyfarms.com). It runs roughly $550-600 for a quarter of a cow and lasts a very long time. Butchering and packing is included in the price and it’s all done on site. I’ll never go back to buying beef from the grocery store again…

    • Thank you sooo much for this advice! I had been considering buying a quarter or half cow, but had no idea where to go. I think a field trip to the 3 Sisters farm is in order, it’s only a short ferry ride away from here!

Leave a Reply

