“What do I want to do with my life?”

First I’d like to mention that my frivolous life plans include more tunnel time! Here’s a short clip from last week, it was the only part my whuffo mother found even mildly interesting. (You might want to mute, the music they put on the dvds is so obnoxious after a while.)

 

Now on to my serious life plans.”What do I want to do with my life?” I’ve asked myself this question a lot lately. I finally have an answer now! My facebook status yesterday: “I just had an epiphany… I finally know what I want to do with my life! I have a dream and a purpose again and feel absolutely amazing about it.”

Some background info:
Most of my life I thought I wanted to go to medical school and be a doctor, but several life experiences made me decide it wasn’t my path halfway through college. Then I changed majors a lot, studied abroad a couple times, and ended up with a ridiculously wide variety of interests. That has always been my problem, I am always interested in way too many things at once. No focus whatsoever. You can see this in my tendency to collect hobbies. I must know and do everything I want to know and do. I’ve also never faced any obstacles, so the possibilities were endless to me. I ended up graduating with a BA in Latin America Studies and a BS in Public Health with a minor in Bioethics & Humanities. The past six months, I’ve literally been lost. I had many ideas on what I could do, but nothing I particularly felt passionate about and wanted to do for the rest of my life. I did however know that I wanted to continue pursuing public health because of our inefficient, inadequate health care system and because I strongly believe in prevention. So I had been looking at grad school for public health. Then I found another problem, there are so many different tracks to get your MPH! Environmental health, epidemiology, biostatistics, health administration, global health… the list literally seems endless. I had taken undergrad classes on most of the subjects and I didn’t feel like I particularly favored one over another.

Meanwhile, I had started to really pay attention to what I put into my body. I eat paleo and inquire about the origin of my food. You know how I said I must know everything I want to know? Well that trait led me to research a lot about the paleo diet and the American food industry. This completely changed my relationship to food and my views on the food industry and our government. I experienced so many positive changes after switching to paleo and have seen first hand how what I eat has a direct influence on my physical and mental health. I had no idea that food was so powerful! I became pretty passionate about eating this way and sharing it with anyone who would listen. I want everyone else to feel as good as I do! I also recently discovered a love for weight loss shows where the morbidly obese take back their lives and make a change. I’m always so inspired and moved by their journey and success.

So yesterday, all these pieces (there are more I did not mention) just fell into place as I realized that I am truly passionate about food as it relates to our health. My dream is to help individuals make informed decisions and take back control of their health so that they can insist on changes from our corrupt food and health system. I want to be a part of the solution to the obesity epidemic and help prevent chronic diseases. I can find purpose in my life with those goals. As my first step towards this path in life that has just become so clear to me, I am looking for MPH programs that will help me reach those goals and will start applying in September. 🙂

 

Since this is a food blog, here’s a picture of the Korean beef  short rib stew/broth I ate yesterday. Usually the meat gets cut up and put in the broth when it’s done. But I got really excited when I saw the meat still intact on the bone and had to eat it with my hand. I really think meat tastes better on the bone!
20110622-082606.jpg

Tags: ,

2 Trackbacks to ““What do I want to do with my life?””

Leave a Reply

