Recovering from last week

I know it has been a long time since I’ve last blogged. I was in the bay area again getting more tunnel time! The whole trip I slept about 4 hours a night and napped a lot during the day. So my internal clock is super messed up. Surprisingly, I wasn’t at all sore after 3 hours in the tunnel in just a few days. Pushing against all that wind is quite a workout! I was drinking coconut water every day to rehydrate and prevent soreness. I got home on Saturday and only had a few hours before having to leave for my friend’s bachelorette party. Needless to say, I was super exhausted after all the tunnel time, travel, lack of sleep, and partying. I also ate like crap the last four days…

Before I left for my trip on Wednesday, I was eating a lot of Copper River salmon – baked with garlic, sea salt, pepper, italian seasonings, and lemon juice.
20110620-101650.jpg

I managed to stay paleo all day on Thursday, but it took some effort. Union City, CA isn’t exactly a mecca for any kind of foodie. For lunch, my vegetarian friend and I went to Fresh Choice. What’s awesome about that place is that they list all ingredients, allergens, and whether something is gluten free, vegan, etc. It had a great salad bar. Everything else wasn’t paleo. The place is super vegetarian friendly with very little meat. What did contain meat wasn’t paleo. So my tray was a little empty. I was kinda excited to use one of these trays again, I hadn’t seen one since high school!

20110620-101716.jpg

We went grocery shopping in Berkeley at the Berkeley Bowl and I was soooo happy! What an awesome supermarket. They had grassfed beef from three different places, two local and one from Uruguay, which I thought was stupid. I don’t know why this picture is upside down. But I bought several cans of coconut water, grassfed ribeye, organic blueberries, hot coppa, and raw almonds. I ate almost everything on Thursday.
20110620-101726.jpg

By Friday, I gave up on eating paleo. I was tired from the lack of sleep and hungry from the lack of constant access to good food. I ate lunch at an Indian buffet with naan, rice, and curries. I hung out with my friend Enrique from the area before my 11pm tunnel session. His mom was so cute! Her homemade, authentic Mexican food was amazing!!! Pretty sure the chicken was paleo, but I had to have some of the rice too because it smelled soo good. I had three bowls! My friend said his mom also makes excellent carnitas. I would love to have the recipe, but she doesn’t cook from a recipe so I don’t know if I’ll be able to get it.

20110620-101744.jpg

We went on a drive. By drive I mean 100+mph in his Porsche Turbo on a narrow, curvy, windy, hilly road. Hello adrenaline, it has been a while! I loved the racing seats, otherwise I would have been flying around the car with every turn. I’ll see if I can post the video I took later.
20110621-075909.jpg

I got a quick little tour of San Francisco. I think I could actually live there! There are very few cities that I like as much as Seattle. We ended up at Ghiradelli Square for some ice cream sundaes. I picked the Gold Rush sundae which had fudge, warm peanut butter, vanilla ice cream, peanuts, and whipped cream. Could it get any less paleo? I’ve always loved peanut butter in ice cream, but warm peanut butter was even better! I could only eat about 20% of this. It was way too sweet.
20110621-075930.jpg

Saturday I even ate french toast for breakfast! The problem with me eating any sort of super sugary foods is that I start craving it. So the rest of the weekend was full of chocolate, scones, and cookies. I also ate noodles! And apple streusel bread! This is why I haven’t been blogging, not much paleo food to post and complete exhaustion. SAD foods make me super lethargic, so all I did was eat and sleep. But today I’m getting back on track despite waking up and immediately wanting nothing but sugar. It’s kinda crazy how I lose my massive sweet tooth if I eat paleo for a few days.

5 Responses to “Recovering from last week”

  1. Travel is soooo hard, especially when there are lots of yummy options in front of you. I did okay at first at my conference a couple weeks ago but I went nuts on sugar on the last day. My strategy is not to fast the next day (feels too much like “punishment” and I’m trying hard not to attach value judgments to food!), but to just get right back to eating clean. That seems to work to push through the sugar cravings (where fasting while having sugar cravings is painful, but if I’m well-nourished, sometimes fasting is easy).

    And yes, Berkeley Bowl rocks!

    • I’m still giving in to my sugar cravings today. It is BAD this time around! Usually I have more willpower to push through the cravings with more meat and veggies. But this time it’s hard because we have chocolate chips, apple streusel bread, and sorbet in the house and i make it a rule to not deny myself anything I really want even if it’ll make me sick.

      I’m most likely going to be back in your area for more tunnel time next month! Maybe we can meet up for a paleo dinner? 🙂

  2. The “Yum” was re: doing a Paleo dinner when you’re in town next. (And you’re right, there’s not a lot near the tunnel, though there is the Texas Roadhouse … not grass-fed but it is a big-ol’ steak!

    I think one of the reasons I haven’t let myself go totally off the rails with sugar (I’ve had an indulgence here and there but not a whole weekend… yet) is that I know how hard it is to get back on. Good luck resisting the temptations in the house (if I had anything in the apartment right now I would definitely be eating it since my hormones are not being kind to me right now).

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

