Carnitas attempt #1

I never realized how time consuming a food blog really is. I have to think about what I will post/cook/eat and take pictures all the time, as if I didn’t already think of food enough before blogging. I’m surprised that I’ve managed to keep it up! I’ve been getting a lot of positive feedback, which is awesome. But what’s even more awesome is that I’ve inspired several people to try a new way of eating that is full of real, whole foods. I’m just so happy to be able to share something simple that has improved my life in so many ways! It seems hard at first to let go of comfort foods and sugar addictions, but it gets easier and easier.

Stovetop Carnitas
Krisanne suggested this recipe for making stovetop carnitas. I don’t know if I just did it wrong or am super picky about my carnitas, but it wasn’t great. It was good enough for me to eat it, but not savor every single bite. I didn’t have coriander on hand and I only used a pound of pork (I cut the recipe in third), so I’m not sure if that affected the final product. It took close to 3 hours for all the water to evaporate. The meat did pull apart, but it wasn’t as tender as carnitas made in a slowcooker. It was a little dry in certain parts. I also did not care for the flavor, which was like an acidic cumin POW and didn’t let the natural flavor of pork shine through.

Halfway done, smelling pretty good.

20110524-070827.jpg

The best thing I did was add the onions when the water was almost entirely gone. The onions caramelized in the pork fat and remaining juices and turned out suuuuper tasty! Especially with little flakes of pork on it.

20110524-070836.jpg

It looks really good, but alas…
20110524-070846.jpg

Next time I’m buying a crockpot! Anyone have a favorite carnitas recipe for me to try?

Because I just bought a huge thing of pork shoulder at the grocery store!!

I was craving blueberries and oranges late last night, so I went to the store. I should probably post more on what I buy at the store, but this particular trip isn’t representative of a typical grocery haul. It was just to satisfy my cravings. I got blueberries, a grapefruit, and two kinds of oranges. One I’ve never heard of and don’t remember the name of and won’t buy again. The navel orange was suuuper good! And it’s definitely not grapefruit season anymore. I also got cilantro and a red onion so I can make pico de gallo today. Pork so I can continue this weeklong pork feast I’ve been having. Aaand COCONUT WATER!!! Which is awesome especially after a workout and very much a paleo drink!

20110524-070858.jpg

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Carnitas attempt #1”

  1. Sorry to hear the recipe didn’t work for you! I’ve made this a bunch of times, and it always comes out tender on the inside, and crispy on the outside. The coriander definitely balances out the cumin, and yes, it is cumin-centric ’cause cumin is my favorite spice 🙂

    Anyway, sorry you didn’t like it! There are lots of good slow cooker carnitas recipes around, so I bet you’ll find a good one.

    • I was definitely thinking that the coriander would balance it out. I only like cumin in very small doses so that probably explains why I didn’t care for it so much! I’m checking out your other recipes and am excited to try more of them!

  2. Bummer that wasn’t the right recipe for you … I’m sure you’ll find one (but definitely get some coriander first!).

  3. Beware –> I really like cumin 😉

    If you’re a shrimp-eater, the marinated shrimp is really good. And the Greek Beef Stew is a winner. Happy cooking!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

