So much pork lately!

I actually hated pork and didn’t eat it for close to 10 years at one point in my life. To be honest, I still don’t really like bacon. Blasphemy, I know. But several years ago at Restaurant Zoë, the server recommended their braised pork belly. I thought, why not give it a try? One bite and I was in love. IN LOVE. I started eating pork again. Then I discovered the Cuban Roast sandwiches at Paseo and my appreciation for pork grew.

Roasted Pork Belly
I still love pork belly and for the first time, I tried it at home. I was too lazy to braise it, so I found these instructions on how to roast it. I kept the skin on because people were raving about the crispy rind. I scored the skin at 1cm intervals, I sprinkled sea salt on it, and I put it on sliced onions so that the meat wouldn’t touch the hot pan. I added garlic because I love roasted garlic way too much. The onions ended up being the best part of all this. With pork juices running down the onions as it roasts, the onions are phenomenal! I did not care for the crispy rind. I’ll definitely try braising it next time…. maybe without the skin.

20110521-085941.jpg

20110521-085953.jpg

Roasted Pork Shoulder

After my underwhelming experience with roasted pork belly, I went back to using pork shoulder. So much better! I had always just roasted it in a pan with some garlic after rubbing it in garlic, salt, pepper, olive oil, and italian seasoning. This time I roasted it on onions and added cumin and smoked paprika to the rub. Turned out amaaaazing! The cumin definitely added a little something extra to the pork. And yes, I know I eat a lot of garlic. It’s good for you!

20110521-085926.jpg

Taco SaladEl Chupacabra

Taco salads usually come with a lot of non-paleo things. I just asked them to leave out the tortilla bowl, rice, beans, and cheese. Which left me with pico de gallo, lettuce, olives, avocado, and my choice of meat. Of course I chose carnitas!!! It wasn’t the best I’ve had, but still pretty darn tasty! Can you mess up carnitas though? They did give me entirely too many olives, I only ate like 3 since I don’t care for them. They also left out the avocado!!! 😦 Anyway, this is another great paleo-friendly option at Mexican restaurants. I should also mention that El Chupacabra serves strong awesome tequila drinks!

20110521-085915.jpg

6 Responses to “So much pork lately!”

  1. Since you mention both pork shoulder and carnitas … next you can make them yourself!

    I’ve used this recipe twice and the flavor is phenomenal (and it’s super-easy … all it really requires is a decent chunk of time).

    http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2011/04/29/stovetop-pork-carnitas/

  2. i made carnitas in my crockpot recently… after it was done i shredded the meat and put it under the broiler for a few mins. it got all crispy and amazing!!

  3. I use this recipe for braised pork belly all the time:
    http://www.justhungry.com/buta-no-kakuni-japanese-braised-pork-belly

    You braise it with the fat, but I just peel it off before eating.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

