Recent eats and coconut vodka tonics

The past few days were tough as I was overdue to go grocery shopping. This meant I had to dig in the freezer and pantry to make something spontaneously!

Chicken and veggies in homemade marinara sauce

I’ve been making marinara sauce from almost scratch for several years. It’s almost scratch because I do used canned italian stewed tomatoes and canned tomato paste. I might try to make marinara completely from scratch some day since the canned stewed tomatoes list sugar as an ingredient. I loosely follow this recipe, omitting the wine. While the sauce was simmering in one pan, I steamed some veggies in another pan – cauliflower, mushrooms, red bell pepper, and zucchini. Then I added chicken breasts, poured in some marinara sauce, and added some spinach last minute. I don’t even miss pasta!!
20110507-011615.jpg

In progress:
20110507-011837.jpg

Balsamic salmon salad
We always have wild salmon in our freezer. I seasoned the salmon, rubbed it with minced garlic and cilantro, then put it in a baking pan along with balsamic vinegar and some olive oil. After letting it marinate for half an hour, I broiled it in the oven. Served on mixed greens with tomatoes and balsamic vinegar.
20110507-011848.jpg

Typical lazy breakfast
I don’t make scrambles, omelettes, and paleo pancakes very often. I prefer minimal cooking and prep for breakfast. Pan sear all natural chicken apple sausage, cook egg in the same pan afterwards in the sausage fat, slice up a tomato and 1/4 of an avocado. It doesn’t look like much food, but this keeps me full for several hours.
20110507-011905.jpg

Coconut vodka tonics
Last night was my friend’s birthday celebration! Though I’m not super strict about staying paleo in social situations, I try to make it as paleo friendly as possible. I went from preferring potato vodkas like Chopin to exclusively drinking Ciroc vodka, which is distilled from grapes. Ciroc is the most paleo friendly liquor I’ve found thus far. I mix it with fresh squeezed grapefruit when available, but otherwise I order vodka tonics with a lime. The bar we were at yesterday only had coconut Ciroc and the drink was surprisingly good! Not at all overwhelmingly sweet like most flavored vodkas, it was just a hint of coconut flavor and very clean tasting. I only had two and was pretty drunk since I have lost my tolerance due to rarely drinking these days.

20110507-011928.jpg

Now I’m off to a BBQ!

Leave a Reply

