Introduction

I heard about the paleo diet when I entertained the idea of becoming a crossfitter…. But let’s be honest, I hate repetitive exercise. Crossfit didn’t stick, but somehow the paleo diet did.

No grains, no legumes, no dairy, no sugar, no alcohol?!? I’ve always considered myself a big foodie. I love eating, I live to eat. I dine out a lot and I have a special place in my heart for happy hour. How could I give up nigiri sushi, Paseo’s Cuban Roast sandwiches, Hiroshi’s green tea tiramisu, Molly Moon’s ice cream, and seabreezes (grapefruit, cranberry, vodka), just to name a few?? Well, I haven’t given anything up, but I rarely indulge in those now. They just don’t taste as good as I remember. Give me my meat, veggies, and fruits instead! I am not strict about being paleo, I don’t want to deny myself anything I want to eat or drink because then it becomes a diet. I don’t need to lose weight, I just want to be healthy and happy. However, it is a way of eating and lifestyle that I have recently come to embrace. Paleo approved foods simply taste better and make me feel better. I get sick when I eat too much of the “standard American diet” now. My relationship to food has changed as well, but I will save that for another post.

I now consider myself a TRUE foodie. Thanks to the paleo way of eating, I’ve gained true appreciation for whole, natural, REAL food.

With this blog I hope to share my recipes and my experiences with eating paleo in a modern world. It’s also a personal blog, so I will be posting about all the adventures in my rather extraordinarily adventurous life.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

